15 years of helping Indian businesses
choose better software

When I Work Reviews

4.5 (1,046) Write a Review!

About When I Work

The easy way to schedule, track time, attendance, and communicate with workers. Save time. Improve accountability. 14-day free trial.

Learn more about When I Work

Pros:

The biggest attraction to this platform was the low price point.

Cons:

Sometimes on the android app its signs you out or completely fails to load. Re-opening the app usually fixes it but it can be frusterating.

When I Work ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service Software
4.4
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

When I Work has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 1,046 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used When I Work before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,046)

Trish
Trish
Senior Receptionist and Lead Trainer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Veterinary Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great software for teams of all sizes

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I've been using this software for 5 years, first as an employee then as an employer. Ease of use for both parties is fantastic and it's well worth paying for to save the time. When I change places of business, if I have a choice, I will choose When I Work again and again.

Pros:

- Shift templates, makes scheduling a lot easier - The ability to copy and paste any shift, even faster than clicking and choosing - Simple to add and remove employees - App is fairly easy to use - Time clock is awesome, easy to use

Cons:

- Looking at the full staff schedule on a particular day can be tedious. - For those making schedules, it's so much easier to do on a computer - In order to have a printed schedule, it downloads the PDF which you then have to print. I wish this printed right off the website.

When I Work Response

4 years ago

Hi Trish, Thank you for taking the time to review When I Work, and your feedback is appreciated! We are always looking for ways to make improvements and appreciate users like you that provide feedback so we can enhance and improve When I Work! Best, Amanda

Silvia
Founder in US
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User and Mobile-friendly Scheduling at a Glance

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: My overall experience has been great. Customer service is always generally available or responds in a timely manner.

Pros:

It's the ease of use. You don't have to be particularly tech-savvy to understand the ins and outs of this app.

Cons:

The schedule time input might be a little tricky sometimes.

When I Work Response

2 weeks ago

Hi Silvia, Lexie here with the Customer Care team at When I Work, thank you for sharing this feedback on your experience with When I Work! Should your Users ever run into any trouble accessing their account, my team is always available to help troubleshoot. Employees are more than welcome to submit a ticket here -https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ We appreciate valuable feedback like this as we consider improvements to our product and are always happy to be open to suggestions!    To keep informed of any future updates, When I Work does provide updates on product releases through the link below! https://help.wheniwork.com/article-categories/product-updates/   If you have further feedback or other suggestions, please do not hesitate to reach back out!    Warmly,  Lexie

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Deceptive & misleading pricing practices, little integration, but certainly quite slick.

1.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Looks slick, appears to offer a lot (which it does, at a cost, see below...) Customer support is very responsive - live chat, email, etc. I may not like their answers (see below) but I can't fault their timely attention, their patience, their attentiveness.

Cons:

1. Pricing Practices The page at wheniwork.com/pricing says nothing, just that schedulling is free for less than 75 employees (and anything over is a "contact us for enterprise" price, which is fine). Great, I think, I'll sign up, start working with it. Glad I didn't invest much time. I set up a few employees, downloaded the apps, started working out the wrinkles. And after a few hours of looking, and testing, and reading, it looks good, but... ...then I discover that basic features like scheduling more than 10 days ahead (!) are paid-for. So is time tracking. Etc. That's ok to charge, but not ok to deceive - and there's *no* simple way right now to see a comparison of features and costs before getting signed-up. And this is not a small bump. You can't bolt-on a little extra. To get a proper working app, the minimum number of users they offer 20 minimum and the time attendance module adds something like 50% on top. But really it is transparency and deceptive practices that have *really* turned me against this product in a *very* short period of time - and that is *very* sad. If they'd allowed me to choose up front to devote my time, great; but they didn't. I had to ask support what "long-term scheduling" meant (that being something not included in the free plan). That means more than 10 days... No other warning of that, that I could see. I feel deceived. 2. App Reliability Others have mentioned glitches. I started working with the iPhone app - it stopped working for some tasks. I contacted support who said it was restricted to my account only, and they would get their developers to look at it. So I stopped using the iPhone app. My wife's Android phone wouldn't recognise her (valid) phone number when accepting a request to log in. So 2 strikes there. Your mileage may vary. 3. Limited Integrations A few years ago, WIW posted on their Facebook page that they used Xero. Some commented then - why no integration? No answer. Years later, still no integration with Xero. No Zapier integration, either. The cynic might think that WIW gets kick-backs / referral fees / bonusnes from Quick Books, Gusto, etc. which is why they're the (very limited) integration "partners". There's an API of course, if I had time. Again, I'd forgive that for a free / cheap deal. But it isn't a free / cheap deal *for a working scheduling solution* - a schedule that doesn't reach into next week is *not* a working schedule. So, yes, I'm annoyed. I feel like I've wasted my time. I feel like I've been deceived. I feel like I signed-up and invested time based upon what is almost a lie. And that sucks - not least because it was so needless. The product isn't awful, the pricing (whilst I may not like it) isn't the worst out there. The limitations are limitations, but every product has some. And that, really, is sad. The silver lining is that the free plan only launched yesterday. So perhaps they'll think again about the offering. And my experience is unlikely to be the same as that people had before me. But it is what it is today - so much so that I've signed-up for GetApp just to leave this review.

When I Work Response

6 years ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm sorry this is not a more personalized response but it appears you have not listed your name, title or company in your GetApp review. As you said, we did just launch our free plan. We hope that many small businesses, including those like you in the apparel and fashion industry, will find value in being able to schedule their employees 10 days in advance and notify them electronically rather than printing out Excel spreadsheets that require their employees to come into a physical location to see their schedule or call a coworker who is currently working to find out when their next shifts will be. As with any new launch, we will continue to try to improve and appreciate your honest and thoughtful feedback about the pricing and how it was displayed to you. Our intention is certainly not to deceive or mislead our customers or potential customers. We are glad to know that despite your perception of the product and its pricing, our Customer Support did what they do best and answered your questions in a timely and attentive manner. Have a nice day, Customer Success @ When I Work

Luis
Accountant in US
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

When I Work is the go to time tracking solution I recommend to all my accounting clients

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall When I Work is a great time tracking solution. It works well, and the report outputs are easy to work with when running payroll. The only thing that could improve is that the sync feature would work with Quickbooks simple start and essentials. Currently the sync function only works with quickbooks plus and above, and not all my clients have a plus level subscription, adding manual entry for payroll.

Pros:

The ability for employees to clock in from their smart phone and the system logging their location is very useful. The chat feature also helps employers to communicate the days tasks quickly.l

Cons:

The pricing structure seems to always be changing and every time I recommend it to a new or existing client, the current pricing is different than what my other clients are on. I need to be constantly checking the newest pricing before I recommended and begin setup for new accounts.

When I Work Response

3 months ago

Hi Luis, Shab here from When I Work. Thank you for taking the time to write us such an amazing review. Our Customer Care team would be happy to help you out with any questions you may have. Please submit a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ so we can provide more assistance if needed. Thank you again for your review! Warmly, Shab

Stephanie
Head Waitress/bartender in US
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Perfectly simple, yet provides multifunctional employee tracking and communications

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Satisfied with the overall usage of this product. It's really straight forward, simple to use, helpful, and reliable. Making more time to spend on other areas of your business that are more important.

Pros:

The simplicity and accuracy are notable. It helps you from scheduling multiple employees on shifts. It allows for employees to swap shifts or release and pick as well. Notifications are immediately sent and acknowledgment of schedule and communications are recorded. Which is absolutely needed to employee accountability.

Cons:

There are potential areas where this program could fail at advising the appropriate authority. If a shift was let go and needed to be picked up. Leading to understaffing concerns.

When I Work Response

4 months ago

Hi Stephanie! We appreciate your nice feedback! It's great hearing from you that When I Work is helping to make your teams' and your work lives easier. Kindly, Shanyce

Holly
Licensed Veterinary Technician in US
Veterinary Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

WhenIWork with VetMed

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: This platform is easy to use and efficient in what the company uses it for.

Pros:

WhenIWork is great for our workplace because it allows us to easily see our schedules, request time off, and punch in and out for shifts and breaks.

Cons:

In addition to this platform my workplace has to use another site in order to offer employee benefits. Would be nice to have everything in one.

When I Work Response

2 months ago

Hi Holly! Thanks for taking the time to provide awesome feedback on how When I Work has helped you and your team! One of our goals was to make scheduling, communication, and time tracking easier and it is terrific to know When I Work is helping your team! Your feedback is appreciated, as we are always looking for ways to make improvements. Kindly, Shanyce

Ashley
HR & Training Specialist in US
Financial Services Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

When I Work Tells Me When I Work

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Our employees enjoy being able to see the schedule for the entire organization, as well as breaking down the view into their specific location when needed. They are also notified in real time of any changes that are made, and have the ability to trade shifts with other employees through the app.

Pros:

When I Work allows us to schedule for all of our locations in one place. We love that we can color code each location and positio, making it easy to break the schedule down into various views.

Cons:

We once attempted to integrate When I Work's time tracking feature, but there were several issues that could not be corrected for our needs.

When I Work Response

4 weeks ago

Hi there Ashley, Sarah here from the team at When I Work. Thank you for taking the time to review the When I Work app. We are thrilled to hear that you love it as much as we do! I appreciate your feedback regarding the Time & Attendance features not quite meeting your business needs. We are always looking for ways to improve the app and features, and user feedback is the most important factor in those improvements. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our Care Team, or direct your team to, by visiting https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/. We are always happy to help! Again, thank you for this review and feedback. Have a lovely day! Best, Sarah

kurt
Warehouse Manager in US
Consumer Goods, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Still a Good Program, but Needs to Upgrade

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: They have an amazing customer service team who was always there for us. Overall it was a good program to help with scheduling but needs a more user friendly upgrade. Visually, average, looks a little outdated.

Pros:

I liked the app, works really well. I also liked the message board to make announcements and communicate to the team.

Cons:

The features seem a little archaic compared to a lot of the programs available today. Higher price points and lack of features when compared to similar options.

When I Work Response

last week

Hey Kurt, Kib here from When I Work. Thank you for sharing this feedback. We're always continuously looking to find ways and improve the client experience. If there's a particular part of the app that we can address we'd love to hear from you by submitting a ticket: https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/. We'd be glad to further enhance the experience for you and your team members!

Jessica
Jessica
account manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ease of scheduling

5.0 last month New

Comments: Incredibly useful tool when managing a large amounts of employees, all having different requests and needs within their schedule. You can request your vacation time weeks in advance, right through the app and it goes right to your manager.

Pros:

This program is amazing. You can submit days off and everything right on the app.

Cons:

I really don't have any complaints- it is so easy to use.

When I Work Response

last month

Hey Jessica, Kib here from the When I Work Customer Care Team. Thank you so much for this review. We're so glad that When I Work is making a difference for you and your team members and that everyone's finding it easy to use!

Christina
General Manager in US
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Scheduling

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Everything is great with it. So far it has worked well.

Pros:

It is a pretty easy system for scheduling my employee's! All they have to do is log in and check to see when they need to work.

Cons:

I haven't found anything about When I work that I don't like. It is a great way to communicate with my employee's about their schedules.

When I Work Response

2 weeks ago

Hi Christina, Shab here from When I Work. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you are finding When I Work easy to use and overall enjoying the app! Should you have any questions, please reach out to our Customer Care team at: https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ and we'd be happy to assist! Have a wonderful week, Shab

Amy
Director in US
Libraries, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I've Reviewed Them Before But They Stay Current And Deserve To Be Commended

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: When I Work has really been great. Gone are the days of me trying to create weekly and monthly calendars and juggle handwritten requests for sick and vacation time. Staff can request through When I Work and I can easily update our schedule. I've saved hours and hours a month being able to utilize the templates as well.

Pros:

When I Work has saved me daily headaches. Public Libraries don't have the funding to implement expensive employee scheduling software. When I Work even offers a free version which we started out with awhile ago but as our staff grew we moved into the paid format. Our library and employee pool has grown and changed, When I Work grows and changes alongside it. They continuously offer new resources and seek to keep ahead of us and just "know" what issues we may have as our staff is in flux.

Cons:

The only issue I've seen thus far is a slight problem with the remote ap. Let me first say that having the ability to have an ap at all is great. My staff often is out of the library for programs and if they have an event prior to actual library hours they can clock in from their own phone. The issue that I speak of was mostly in calculating the distance that clocking in was allowed. It took a few tries to make sure that staff can check in, with a decent range, but not be so far from the library that it could be abused by someone wanting to beat the clock when they're late to work.

When I Work Response

3 years ago

Hi Amy! Thank you so much for the kind words! We're glad the app has been a good solution for you and your team. If you ever have any questions, please reach out to us here: https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/, and we'll be happy to help!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great scheduling app with tons of features!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Scheduling is EXTREMELY easy! Long gone are the days of paper postings and random email messages. It is VERY nice being able to reference your entire schedule from the moment it is posted, going all the way back to your initial employment. Even those with little to no computer experience can use it fairly easily.

Pros:

It is EXTREMELY easy for the end-user to utilize this software. There are also some pretty good mobile applications that it offers which makes tracking your schedule very easy!

Cons:

There are a lot of overly-helpful tips and suggestions that constantly spam the administrators' email accounts and scheduling interfaces. (Essentially the company does this to assist the administrators, but there is no way to stop it, which makes it very annoying after awhile). The mobile application can also be buggy at times, and the website schedule does not work properly on mobile phones that don't have a "desktop view", as the website does not have a mobile version designed for it. This forces you to use the mobile app on mobile devices unless your mobile phone can display it in a "desktop view". On a normal computer interface, this works just fine.

When I Work Response

6 years ago

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to review our app. We are glad to hear that When I Work is making scheduling easier for you and your team. If you are having trouble unsubscribing to our emails, please reach out to us at [email protected] and we would be happy to help get you unsubscribed on our end. At this time When I Work is only supported on our web app via computer or or on mobile apps on Android and iOS devices. Our team is prioritizing consistency and parity between our web and mobile apps. I would make sure that you have the most updated version of the mobile app for the latest enhancements we have made. Thanks, Adrian When I Work Team

Nicola
Director in Australia
Facilities Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Does what it is supposed to

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: I loved this product until a setting (that I didn't touch) mysteriously changed itself, causing my subscription to increase significantly. I didn't notice it for 14 months. When I addressed this with When I Work, I was told that their policy is to not provide credits or refunds - in this case even when it seems it was them that had overcharged. I have gone from a very satisfied long-term customer, to one who feels like When I Work is not there for its clients at all. And I am suspicious that others would have their background settings changed as well (I didn't even know what or where it was).

Pros:

It's visual and simple. It schedules down to 15 minute increments. It makes a very dynamic schedule like ours, easy to manage and understand.

Cons:

It would be good if a shift automatically started from the time you first click on the schedule. It would be good if they understood how tricking and overcharging their customers leads to a complete lack of loyalty. Buyer beware! Just keep on checking your subscription amounts each month. As if you don't have other things to be occupied with.

When I Work Response

7 years ago

Thank you for the feedback and we are happy to hear the product is meeting your scheduling needs. We pride ourselves on our customer service, and it's a primary reasons so many business owners choose When I Work over other options. We understand your frustration in this situation where you enabled a feature which was underutilized. When I Work does not change billing settings without the explicit written consent by the Account Holder. We also email out an invoice to Account Holders for every transaction made to ensure clear transparency. When I Work's flexible and transparent billing allows businesses to only purchase what they need. For some of our customizations, such as international text support, there is a recurring monthly add-on fee. All pricing customizations are clearly listed on the Account & Billing Page and prior to consenting to the recurring payment- we require the Account Holder's consent to our Terms of Service, Refund Policy, and Privacy Policy.

Deborah
Owner in US
Veterinary Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The software has made the impossible, possible for scheduling employees

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I think scheduling would not be managed as well without this software.

Pros:

I love that employees can indicate when they are available and when they are not available. I love that they can put in requests for time off which helps me not rely on myself for remembering. I love that there are additional features for rate of wage. I like the attendance and I can see if employees are showing up late or getting into overtime. There is a budget feature which I have not used but think would be very helpful in the future.

Cons:

I wish that I could have the option of excluding some employees when sending a general email through WIW. I also wish that open shifts were always a different color especially when looking at the schedule by position. This would bring my attention to the open shift and alert me that someone is needed. I wish I could publish an employees schedule out for more than 1 week.

When I Work Response

6 years ago

Hi Deborah, Thanks for taking the time to review When I Work. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know When I Work is helping to make your teams¿ and your work lives easier! When sending custom email messages to your employee's you can select which employees you would like to send the email messages to, by clicking on the "To" field and selecting their names from the list. There is not a way to automatically change the colors of the OpenShifts. Instead managers would have to manually edit the OpenShifts and change the colors on the Scheduler page. When it comes to publishing the schedule, you can use the advanced publishing feature to publish the schedule for any desired date range: https://help.wheniwork.com/articles/publishing-the-schedule-computer/#advanced-publishing If you have any questions about When I Work, please check out our help center at https://help.wheniwork.com/ or email our Customer Care team at [email protected]! Thanks, Adrian

Laurie
President in US
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good for specific types of companies; we needed additional functions

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: This software seems to be developed and used for companies whose locations do not change. I can see why restaurants and small stores would be very happy with this app. However, there is a large market "out here" for companies who send employees to many locations to have an app they can use also (housekeepers, landscapers, moving/packing companies, etc.).

Pros:

It has many of the features we needed for scheduling employees. We liked that more than one location can be scheduled for different employees, even sometimes on the same day. When we finally figured out how to use it, the map function was convenient because we go different places nearly every day. We liked that employees could see who was working with them each day.

Cons:

There is no ability for employees to decline a shift. For several years, we requested the company add this feature. This turned out to be a deal breaker for us, and we finally went to another software. I also thought it was odd that when a loyal customer of many years left, no one from the company contacted us to find out why. Interestingly, the software we changed to also costs less per month, in spite of the fees they charge us for employees to accept/decline shifts by text message.

When I Work Response

4 years ago

Hi Laurie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a thoughtful review. I'm glad to hear that our multiple schedules and job sites features were helpful for you as your scheduled your staff. I'm sorry to hear that you ended up choosing to go with another software; we are always looking for ways to improve When I Work, so I really appreciate your feedback about allowing employees to decline shifts, rather than just confirming them. Thank you again for taking the time to give us this feedback, Laurie! All the best, Briana

Pam
Store Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

When I Work made scheduling and communicating to all employees a breeze!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The ease of the program. It was very user-friendly. Scheduling used to take 2 hours, but it was cut down to 30 minutes with WhenIWork. I love that I could customize the shifts. I especially loved that employees had to acknowledge their shifts. There was no more miscommunication that an employee didn't see their schedule. It's also been a great tool to get staff on the same page. The ability to message everyone at once was awesome. Plus the program tells you which employees have viewed the messages. It also has the option for employees to clock in via the app and you can link it with payroll. Employees are able to submit requests for time-off or vacations. Everything you need is in one place. The customer support team is available immediately through their live chat. They have always been very helpful and friendly. Absolutely a wonderful program!

Cons:

The only thing I would modify is to have the ability to block off certain dates for requests. That way an employee wouldn't be able to request off Black Friday for example.

When I Work Response

6 years ago

Hi there Pam! Thanks for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you find so much value in When I Work! In addition, we do have a way to block off days that you don't want your users to request off. You can create a Schedule Annotation in 'Week View' by clicking the 'Chat Bubble' icon next to the date. You will just need to fill in the details of the annotation and select the box for 'Don't Allow Time Off'. Here is a guide that walks you through that: http://bit.ly/2nzroHJ Feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any questions :) Sincerely, Kara -When I Work Team

Amanda
Supervisor in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Revolutionized our Scheduling Process

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We used to manually schedule all staff at our child care programs. When a regular staff called in sick or requested vacation we used to have to call, text and email each individual on call or float staff to see who was available and if they could work at the location we needed. When I Work allows us to be a lot more efficient in this process. It also allows for better communication with all staff through features such as work chat, and announcements. The customer service provided from the initial demo to setting up our team was exceptional. Our rep was always available to answer our questions or educate us about new features that might be useful to us. Our rep worked with us to use the features that worked best for us. When I Work also provides ready to go resources that you can send out to teams that include everything from how to set up your account, see open shifts, swap/drop shifts etc.

Pros:

The ability to post open shifts as revolutionized our ability to communicate with and mobilize our on call staff. By posting an open shift On Call and float staff see the shift right away and are able to pick up shifts that fit with their schedules. The ease of posting open shifts has drastically decreased the time spent trying to find staff to fill gaps in schedules. With over 150 employees and 44 locations we are able to post the addresses of each location that allow staff to pull up a map to the site.

Cons:

At this time the product is serving us very well. When I Work continues to add new features and provides detailed descriptions and instructions to these features.

When I Work Response

3 years ago

Hi Amanda, Thank you so much for this detailed and thoughtful review! We love hearing about some of your favorite features and how your team utilizes OpenShifts and new features as they become available!

Lisa
General Manager in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Makes scheduling super easy!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This product is super straight forward and very user-friendly. It is very easy to use the scheduler as well as keep up with employee hours on the Time Tracker. You can easily edit attendance if your employee forgets to clock out and sending messages to the whole group is super easy with the group message feature. The online based platform is great and the app is the perfect way to post the schedule without having to send out emails of spreadsheets etc. Notifications come straight to your phone regarding scheduling changes, shift swap requests, time off requests, and even when your employees forgot to clock in. Notification alerts are easy to change in settings. There's even a setting to get a reminder 2 hours prior to your shift so in case your schedule is constantly changing, its so easy to keep up with it!

Cons:

The satellite/gps location isn't as good as it can be with regards to clocking in. Sometimes it will not let you clock in due to being "too far away" when you are standing right at your work. The app sometimes freezes up when clocking in/out or takes a while to process a clock in. So then when you press "clock in" again, it'll actually clock you out.

When I Work Response

6 years ago

Hi there Lisa, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are so happy to hear that you and your team finds value in When I Work! If you continue to run into issues with clocking in and out, please feel free to email our Customer Care team at [email protected]. Our team will help get the issues you are experiencing resolved. Thanks again for the review! Hope you have a great day! Sincerely, Kara -When I Work Team

Liz
Youth Development Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Tool!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I will never go back to the old way. When I Work has revolutionized my work day.

Pros:

I have numerous staff working different jobs at different locations. Previously I was using Excel to schedule them all. Keeping track of days off and their class schedules was next to impossible. Letting the staff request time off and set their availability streamlined the process drastically. Since switching to When I Work my time spent scheduling has been greatly reduced. The mobile app is very helpful for my employees. The ability to designate positions is also very valuable. A large portion of my staff work in a child care setting so there are rules about qualifications necessary for each shift. I can designate which staff have which qualifications so that only eligible staff can be scheduled for a specific shift.

Cons:

I don't believe I have any cons. Occasionally when they change or update something it will cause an issue. I contact their customer service and it is corrected immediately.

When I Work Response

4 years ago

Hi Liz - Thank you for this amazing 5 star review! I'm so happy to hear that the features and options we offer meet many of your business needs and make your job easier! Availability is one of my favorite features we offer since it helps managers get more time back and empowers employees to manage their time! Thank you again for this great review! Kindly, Adrianne

Brenda
wholesale brand ambassador in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The software you didn't know you needed

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, I am satisfied with the software. I especially love that they incorporated a lunch break feature and even rolled out the live time clock to help you track your lunch!

Pros:

I've been using WhenIWork for about 3 1/2 years now and the best feature that I enjoy about this software is that I can utilize my phone to track my clock-ins and outs. I travel a bit for my job and being able to clock in at any time without having to jump on a computer is great!

Cons:

I love that it gives me a notification when I have an upcoming shift or when I haven't clocked into a shift yet (something you simply forget) but WhenIWork always sends me a notification that I haven't clocked out even when I have clocked out from a shift. I am not sure why it recognizes that I have clocked out but still sends me a notification that I haven't done so. It might just be a personal problem though.

When I Work Response

4 years ago

Hi Brenda - Thanks so much for taking a moment to share feedback with us! I'm so happy to hear that you're loving the ease of using the app on the go with tracking your time! We're really glad our features like mobile clock in and breaks are so helpful for you! If you're running into an issue with your notifications, feel free to submit a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ so we can assist! Again, thank you so much for the review! Best, Adrianne

Sam
Owner in US
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Scheduling Entertainment

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Schedule 30 to 40 shows a month across 12 performers is a lot to keep track of. WIW allows me to quickly assign performers to shows. The Notification to the Performers is great and the Reminder 2 hours or so before the Show is excellent... At one point we were doing shows every weekend and were using the OPEN opportunity. I would publish the date and time the opens would be published. Performers would be able to pick the show they wanted based on thier schedule. Being able too publish OPEN shifts in 1 push was very easy to do. I would fill an entire month of shows in about 15 minutes ... VERY efficient.

Pros:

The monthly view give me the opportunity to see all scheduled shows and the assigned performer for each. So when customer calls with a specific data and time, I can easily confirm the opening and assign a performer to the show.

Cons:

The ability to schedule repeating monthly/weekly events. While "every week" is ok, it does not allow for more complex calendaring such: as every 3rd Wednesday in every month, or every other Monday through out the year. This was a feature in the ORIGINAL WIW from 18+ months ago. There was a small ICON (an elliptical arrow icon) in the "TIME" dialogue box. When clicked it would allow for such complex scheduling ... PLEASE BRING IT BACK!!

When I Work Response

4 years ago

Hi Sam, Thanks for such a fantastic review! It's great to hear that your scheduling has been made more efficient through the use of OpenShifts. Thanks also for your feedback in regards to repeating shifts, we're always looking for ways to make When I Work more useful for our users. Best, Terra

Michael
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Attractive inteface, serious limitations

2.0 9 years ago

Comments: So much promise, and a very attractive user interface. This might be fine for very small businesses, but has major limitations for tracking actual labour costs vs projected labour costs which is a key aspect of time management. Actual labour costs show up in the dashboard as a pretty line, but if you want to actually know the actual labour cost by day or % for actual sales, forget it. You'll have to export into excel and go back to that old game. If you run a restaurant or bar this feature alone should be a deal killer. Also if you run a company with multiple departments and want deptartment managers to be responsible for their own labour budgets but not view wages company wide...forget it. Supervisors can view wages for their department but not labour budgets! Managers can view wages and labour budgets, but company wide! So this system can work for a small business where one manager is in charge of all schedules but not for larger companies with department managers that shouldn't have access to company wide info. When will they come out with these and other features and fixes? Who knows...all they can say is...maybe, perhaps at some point, we're trying. How about a development timeline that customers can see so that they can tell whether a needed feature is going to be 2 weeks or 2 years, or never? How about a response from the development team about when a new feature might come out? No, just keep hoping. Well sorry, companies can ride on hope. Shiftplanning seems to be in the same price point, with larger feature set.

Pros:

Attractive user interface. Easy to set up and add new shifts and move shifts around. Responsive support.

Cons:

No ability to track actual sales vs budgeted without exporting to a spreadsheet. LImited access for supervisors to labour budget.

When I Work Response

9 years ago

Hi Michael, Thanks so much for the feedback. This is very helpful. You're right about our approach to features. We hold back and focus on the features we can make the very best. We'd rather do 10 things great, than 100 things mediocre. That said, I think I can help in regards to your questions about LABOR BUDGETING. We have a "mode" that you can turn on that will allow you to see labor budget by day compared adjusted projected sales. We also show you labor cost by $ and %. Here is a screenshot that show's how the LABOR BUDGET feature works. See it here: http://i.imgur.com/mhWYAbE.png Is this what you're looking for? If not, how would you change this to meet your needs? Really appreciate the feedback and would love to learn more about how you do labor budgeting in your restaurant. Thanks again! -Chad Halvorson CEO / Founder

Taylor
asst Programs director in US
Religious Institutions, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

review of when I work

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: it has helped make sending out the schedule easier, as well has helped keep track of previous schedules. it has also made our timesheets easier being all on a phone or a computer. all in all its pretty good, but I do wish it ran a little smother, and did not have so many glitches.

Pros:

it helps put the schedule and timesheets all in one software, it will send out the schedule to all of the employees with one click, it can be used from a phone

Cons:

It seems to have a fair amount of glitches, I have had it delete full schedules, autocorrect times to something completely different, and it jumble around shifts. I also think it is pretty pricey per employee on it.

When I Work Response

4 years ago

Hi Taylor, Katie here with Customer Care at When I Work. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and provide feedback - we really appreciate it! We are happy to see the app has been beneficial in keeping track of your schedules and timesheets all in one place - it definitely is a convenient feature! Sorry that you have experienced some glitches with the app. We would be happy to assist with these to make sure they don't continue to occur. If you could send an email to [email protected] with the details of what you are experiencing, we would be happy to further assist. Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback. Have a great rest of your day! Best, Katie

Jessica
Staffing Manager in US
Staffing & Recruiting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

When I work

3.0 10 months ago

Comments: It was good for what we needed at the time because we really needed the hospital schedules to be able to be viewed and it was easy to overlook the whole month how many shifts were being worked/ scheduled. but with so many facilities and with having to enter everything in after texting or talking to the candidate we found out it was easier to do on excel or just keep track ourselves - most of our employees at the time weren't downloading the app or even logging on.

Pros:

It was very easy to put in schedules and candidates were able to check and view their schedules and if we needed to make changes it was very easy - a click of a button.

Cons:

For a Staffing Company - You were able to put in multiple locations but when we used it - I would have to get the schedules from the candidates and then enter it into the app so they could see it, They wouldn't able to change their schedules unless they texted me then i would have to change it in the app which took time - wasn't as simple as their just cancelling or removing shift themselves.

When I Work Response

10 months ago

Hey Jessica, Jeremy here with When I Work. Thank you for reviewing the When I Work app and providing feedback regarding our features. If you have any specific suggestions for features that you'd like to see added to the app, please submit a ticket to our Care Team by visiting https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/. We appreciate insight and track and respond to every feature request. Take care, Jeremy

Katja
Call Center Ambassador in US
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My favorite scheduling app that I've used so far!

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: I have used When I Work at two different places of employment and prefer it over other scheduling applications, such as ADP.

Pros:

When I Work is very simple to use and easy to navigate. My current or upcoming schedule always shows up as soon as I log into the app, and I can easily view my upcoming shifts and approve them. Putting in requests and setting my availability is also very straightforward. Finally, I enjoy the messaging feature, which is helpful for communicating with a whole team or with individuals whom I haven't shared contact information with yet.

Cons:

Sometimes When I Work logs me out of the app and I am forced to log in again, which can be inconvenient if I don't have my password saved or written down. When I cancel a shift, it still shows up in my Concluded Requests, as well as my employer's requests for me, which I feel is a bit unnecessary. I would prefer if it just showed up in mine but not in my employer's requests. I also wish my shifts from previous weeks were still available to view.

When I Work Response

11 months ago

Hi, Katja Thank you for leaving such a positive review. We appreciate your time and support!