15 years of helping Indian businesses
choose better software

About Odoo

An open-source suite of integrated apps to manage CRM, PoS, Website, eCommerce, Sales, Accounting, Warehouse, HR, Marketing, and more.

Learn more about Odoo

Pros:

Odoo survey is the good option for quick start surveys.

Cons:

The initial implementation was painful to say the least.

Odoo ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service Software
3.7
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.5/10

Odoo has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 805 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Odoo before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (805)

Meet
Meet
Erp Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Networking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Odoo:One stop solution for inventory management

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The inventory management , stock list , stock details is awesome compared to miracle and also the interface is user-friendly

Cons:

The pricing structure can be reduced especially for small business

Jeffrey
President in US
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Better than Netsuite at 20% of the Price

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Rough first year but not that everything is smoothed out it is great!

Pros:

It does everything that Netsuite does but for 20% of the cost!

Cons:

Don't use support from Odoo. Hire a consultant!! We use Emipro because we use a few of their apps and their support is fantastic.

Ed
Owner in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Buggy software and poor customer service

1.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Customer support was abysmal, taking a long time to respond and redirecting instead of resolving.

Pros:

Ease of signing up and getting started with the platform

Cons:

The software consistently had errors, requiring a refresh of the entire page and losing any work in progress. Customizing the Odoo Studio platform was complicated, which defeats the purpose of a no-code tool.

Garrett
EVP in US
Furniture, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Incredibly Powerful Community Version

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Odoo is obviously a very mature software platform. It is great at what it does and the architecture allows for easy setup and easy customization. If it has modules that meet your needs even remotely, do not hesitate to use it.
The community edition is free, VERY easy to setup, and VERY stable. I have been running the community edition on a small linux server in my internal network. I have 100% uptime, zero restarts on that box since I deployed the "production" environment about 5 months ago.
I keep adding modules to use Odoo for more and more of my operations.
I went from spending several hundred dollars per month to fight w/ my previous inventory management system to spending a few hundred dollars once for a small servlet and have really unleashed the engagement and creativity of my inventory management and procurement departments.

Pros:

The Community version is completely free, no strings attached. You have to set it up, secure it, and host it yourself. The docker container available makes it a perfectly smooth and configurable deployment. If you or your IT department has any ability to use Docker to deploy applications on an internal network, they should be able to have Odoo Community up and running in an afternoon at most (if they can't, fire them). Odoo is complicated as it can cover a vast scope of your operations. Therefore, setup is complicated. We spent about 1 week from 1 person to get it ready to roll out. At the end of that week we had imported all our materials for purchasing (~500 items) and products we sell (~250 SKUs) from our previous inventory management system (MRPEasy) INCLUDING BOMS. Because of the incredibly effective bulk import features, simple guides, and logical workflows, we switched over to Odoo about 2 weeks earlier than our planned rollover date. I have yet to encounter anything I would consider a defect or a bug in the software. We have customized several forms to eliminate buttons or features not used, add columns and fields, and track some extra reference IDs for other systems on our products. Very easy platform to do deep configuration/manipulation on. The PDF generation and customization engine is very easy to use and works great. It was also easy to edit the code of the PDF template to make some stylistic changes to the forms we generate. If you know basic HTML and CSS, Odoo is simple enough to understand and navigate that you can really get deep in customization. The intra-app communication via "Activities" is ubiquitous in the platform and makes for very effective todo lists being integrated into the app that the "work" happens in.

Cons:

It really wants to send emails and manage communications. I had to dig pretty deep to make sure those features were turned off. We are B2B and I want communications to have a personal touch on pretty much everything.

Hanane
Freelance in Morocco
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Making decisions

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: A very wonderful experience and still like you

Pros:

Ease of use, community support, scalability, affordability and continuous development

Cons:

It takes a long time to run errands.....

Su Latt
Project Manager in Myanmar
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Review for Business Management Software

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: In my experience, Odoo comes in two versions: Community, which is free and open-source, and Enterprise, which requires a paid subscription per user. Implementing Odoo typically requires skilled functional consultants and technical experts. In Enterprise version, you can get the support from Odoo team.

Pros:

Odoo offers ease of customization and seamless integration with other systems, such as payment gateways, SMS gateways, and HR software. The Odoo Community version is free to use. Active community provides access to a wealth of resources, support forums, and collaboration opportunities

Cons:

Odoo users need to be well-trained in Odoo, as bulk import is sensitive to errors. Odoo's software modules can be complex in version upgrades.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Food Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Odoo for K's

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: It's great to have odoo as our crm tool. Other agents see where we left off and every conversation or actions we take is property documented. Customers are easily added to odoo as rhey themselves put in their information when they visit our website. With the sales forecast, we have an insight as to what steps to do to improve our sales. When problem arises, the customer service can be easily contacted and they are mlke than willing to help us with our odoo concern.

Pros:

I like all the features in the system. It shows all the possible actions we should take to improve our sales performance and get more customers on board. Collaborating with other agents is also very smooth.

Cons:

The only problem i see is that the database is inaccessible while offline, so if you don't have internet connection, you won't be able to get to access the contact info of the person you need to contact without going to a place with internet. But you know, everything nowadays depend on the internet.

ER
CPO in US
Staffing & Recruiting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Software for people

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Good product, east to set up and use for us.

Pros:

It was very easy to use and set up. It had good international features.

Cons:

It took a while to integrate with other systems.

Samantha
Samantha
Owner in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Free Website Builder

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Free to use, looks professional, lots of stock photos

Cons:

Sometimes hard to understand, no instant customer support

Julián
SEO in Spain
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Nice and cheap CRM

4.0 last week New

Pros:

Has lot of free fucntions and its very easy to start

Cons:

I think its difficult to create custom pipelines

Rajiv
Special Projects Manager in US
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Oversold and Underdelivered

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: We purchased Odoo just about a year ago. We saw the potential it had, which drew our appeal. We began implementation and as it proceeded, we hit several points where we had to push back our launch date. We had (and still have) several bugs and issues with the software we face on a daily basis. We invested over double our initial budget on service hours and had to go back and forth with various Odoo Sales Team members just to be compensated for a chunk of the time reimbursed for issues that should have been taken care of. We have fully migrated our first company, and still in process of migrating our second.

Pros:

-Odoo has a vast array of applications that appear very user friendly -Can automate several manual functions that occur day-to-day -Accessible on the go -Have the ability to customize the system to meet your company's needs

Cons:

-Setting up and configuring the database is almost impossible without support - Several technical bugs and glitches -Have to go through several hoops just to undo validated actions (ex: Validated Invoices, Orders) -Can be slow at times -Support has slow turn around times -Sales Team overpromises and under-delivers

Odoo Response

5 years ago

Hi Rajiv, thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear you had challenges with configuration. While self-implementation is free, we typically recommend getting technical services either internally, with Odoo directly, or with one of our thousands of Official Partner organizations worldwide. We give you many different options so you can choose the one that is right for you; but please get in contact with us if we can help in any way! :)

Talha
Talha
Asst. Manager Finance in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Textiles, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Odoo for ERP, Supply chain, Manufacturing, trading, Ecommerece business

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We used it to streem line and for effective supply chain and finance, it helped us to determine those key factors, and we customisely made reports for performance of company aswell individiduals.
In supply chain, tradeoff and optimization between shortages and overstocking, cash to cash cycle inprovement made by analysing and bottle necks deteced by odoo.
Longterm pending cases, reporting, email notification for a abnormal or overdue, and over amount transactions helped us to manage finance on a well way specially when we were in crises.
Sourcing rather than manufacturing analyse by customize odoo, in costing and RFQ is wonderful.

Pros:

Easy installation, can be customize as per business scenario, wide support, business features, transaction are supported according to international business tactics. Almost every module available finance, invoicing, quality control, inventory, planning,manufacturing, MRP and DRP. The cross functionalities made odoo awesome, check and control over transactions, users is a powerful tool to control the business, available as Saas, local server aswell can be installed on custom domain. Speedy work, with better GUI, its best for large/medium industry. It perfectly supports Importing, exporting or migration from another ERP. Transactional control, tracing over network is available, secured platform for business. Android app is available, can be worked smartly on it. Purchasing control, Planning control, and inventory scenarios are purely designed on professional approach. Bottle necks, cycle time, EOQ can be configured on it, With configuration it can be run with optimistic, in future AI and automation it can be a advanced supply chain tool. For realtime tracking and tracing like Barcodes, QR codes are available to generate automatically/manually for batches and products.

Cons:

Customization is not easier, with depth documentation is required, which is unfortunately is not publicised. Limited database server type, it's somehow difficult to configure with existing dedicated database server. Transaction uniqueness records like algorithm for hitting a specific transaction is not being created, i.e on refreshing or by going back values can be submitted twice. Some pages, do not display properly on android app, specially visuals.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best CRM platform

5.0 last year

Comments: I have found that Odoo solves several problems in our company, especially by centralizing all management operations in a single platform. Thanks to Odoo, I save time by avoiding manual tasks and automating processes, which allows me to focus on higher value-added tasks. In addition, the easy customization of the platform allows me to meet the specific needs of our company while maintaining full control over our operations.

Pros:

As a user, I find Odoo to be a comprehensive and customizable platform for project management, accounting, human resources, sales, and marketing. The platform is easy to use and offers detailed reporting and analysis capabilities to help businesses make informed decisions in real time, which can improve their productivity, efficiency, and overall profitability.

Cons:

As a user, I find that one of the main drawbacks of Odoo is the initial learning curve, which can be quite steep for beginners and requires extensive training to master all the features of the platform. Also, some features may not be suitable for all types of businesses, which can lead to additional costs for custom add-ons. Finally, customer support is sometimes slow to respond, which can lead to frustration and delays in resolving issues.

Denis
CEo & Chief Architect in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Odoo Hosted is Kewl

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I wanted more than "just QuickBooks", b ut, I still wanted it to be simple. Odoo delivers.

Pros:

Odoo hosted is awesome. It's features are robust and simple. It's easy to start experimenting for free with new integrated technologies and then turn them on in production as it makes sense econimically as we scale our business. It's high quality open source software written in Python and leveraging PostgreSQL for the database. Personally, I'd love to be a contributor to the Open Source portfolio of features and products (if only I had the time). Also, they have friendly and very knowledgable support staff that are there to help you succeed without any high pressure tactics. They are in it with you for the long term. I can not recommend Odoo enough.

Cons:

I don't have any real complaints yet. So far I haven't needed much technical support and things are pretty intuitive (once you start using it).

Tim
General Manager in Australia
Events Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Incompleted project, doesn't allow for easy customisation

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: I would highly recommend for anyone looking into a customised software system to not use Odoo. You will need a skilled developer to complete the simplest of tasks for you.

Pros:

The idea of having an all in one database is great, but simply unattainable with their software system.

Cons:

We used a recommended developer from Odoo in Australia to build and develop our software system. Our project was allocated 12 weeks to complete and it is now 18 months later and the project has been abandoned. It seems that simple integration between Odoo and a payment gateway was difficult, taking the developer 6 weeks to complete. When the project was near "completion" I was advised to purchase the 12 licenses that would be required at a cost of $5000+USD for the year. At this stage, we could've only purchased 2 licenses to progress in the project. The project continued for a further 9 months until it was abandoned (due to it not being completed) at which stage we asked Odoo for to seek reimbursement for the licenses. Unfortunately, even though we used a recommended partner of Odoo from their website to develop our project, they informed us that they would not refund or partially refund our purchase even though the project isn't completed, a recognised developer was used, and we are still unable to use the software. Their suggestion was to give it more time.

Selvakumar
Selvakumar
Technical Team Lead in United Arab Emirates
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Covers most of the organisational needs but need customization as well

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Have experience of consulting and over seeing the implementation ( 14 Implementations) of Odoo from version 8 to 11 for the past 4 years.

Pros:

1) Opensource and SaaS option 2) Easy to use - Maintained uniformity across modules 3) Availability of Third Party apps 4) OCA community support 5) No other opensource ERP covers Inventory (Product master - ability to handle product variance / Inventory valuation / Landing Cost) and Recruitment functionality like odoo 6) Odoo Enterprise Accounting reporting is a plus 7) Easy to customize or develop new module using Odoo Studio if your an enterprise customer 8) Developing new module even in enterprise will not take much time 9) Partners availability across globe is a plus 10) Having Ecommerce functionality in an ERP is great advantage

Cons:

1) Need customization for localization ( Both HRMS - End of service calculation and Taxation) 2) Must to have functionalities are moved from community to enterprise form Odoo version 9 onward till odoo 12 3)Must to have accounting reports moved to Odoo enterprise 4)Not providing incremental update to the existing version is minus 5) Different pricing for different region 6) Document management features could have been better even-though they released few more functionalities in Odoo 12

Odoo Response

6 years ago

Thanks for the review Selvakumar! We appreciate the 10/10 for recommendation. Your key points in both areas were informative to read. We like to see the Pros in order to understand where our community finds the most value, as well as the Cons to see where we can improve. Note for some of these (such as Documents management) that our software is constantly being updated and improved by a global team of awesome developers to bring features like this to our users. If you are on the SaaS platform, these features are delivered to you automatically without any need to update or reconfigure (we like to make things simple and easy). Hope to see you at our next Odoo event to learn more about your experience! :)

Raymond
Raymond
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We liked them so much we Partnered with them

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: All of my systems and customer data are centralized in one easy to use system

Pros:

As a former Netsuite and Salesforce partner, our clients demanded more in the form of ease of use, mobility and functionality without breaking the bank. We started off by migrating ourselves off of our Netsuite system. This move simplified all of our daily work lives so much, we brought this solution to our client base. From Professional Services, Manufacturing and Warehouse operations, Odoo was an excellent fit and an extremely good value. The company improves the software almost daily and with thousands of prebuilt apps in their app store, adding major functionality and workflow is simple. Also the open nature of the code makes it the absolute most flexible ERP/CRM/MRP software on the market. Odoo maintains a few versions Community(Free) and Hosted(Saas) and Enterprise(Self Hosted). We recommend either Hosted or Enterprise(Most Recommended) for business. The Community edition is mostly for developers to have an easy way to learn the basics. The Enterprise edition is packed with additional advanced features necessary for production use, and is supported by Odoo and the Odoo Partner Channel. Any company in the search for an ERP system should include Odoo in their list.

Cons:

Documentation needs improvement. Most documents and answers are not centralized but scattered between Youtube, and Odoo Community and GitHub although they have been building a training portal.

Odoo Response

6 years ago

Thanks for the review VCloud9 team! We are excited to hear how your experience with other ERP systems like Netsuite has helped to identify key value indicators when doing software implementation. We look forward to continuously adding value to your projects in the future!

Thabo
Thabo
Managing Director in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Extensive ERP for a small to medium sized business.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Having everything in one app is the major benefit to me. I don't have to use different software for Sales and Purchases; for Contacts; fr Projects etc. Another benefit for me is the ability to attach documents to each transaction for tax purposes at the end of the financial year.

Pros:

Odoo is an Opensource ERP with a free Community Edition and a paid Enterprise edition. It is packed with features like Accounting, Project Management, Customer Management, Employee & Recruitment Management, Inventory & Warehouse, Sales and Purchase and POS to name a few. I like the Dashboard where one can get an bird's eye view of the status of any task or activity that needs attention. Plenty of additional modules (called Apps) are also available on the Odoo Store. Odoo uses Postgresql as database. It offers plenty of customisation options. Some countries' standard Chart of Accounts are available by default, or you can create your own. Overall a very useful ERP.

Cons:

I'm reviewing the Community Edition: On the downside, it has a relatively big learning curve. Setup and initial configuration is crucial. I would have liked to choose between mySQL and Postgresql as some hosting providers does not offer Postgresql. Some minor frustrations is the fact that an invoice can only be created after a quotation, then an order. I would've liked to be able to enter an invoice without an quote or order; for example monthly regular contractual invoices. Having said that, depending on how your business work, it might not affect you that much. Secondly, recording expenses is cumbersome - expenses are recorded either through the employer expense module (which is not always related to an employer, like rent), or through billing. Either way, you need to create a "product or service" for expenses before entering them. Where and how you enter them, also affects your expense reporting. I would also like to see more reporting options like traditional desktop apps. Customer support for the Community Edition are limited to the forums and some manuals for older editions.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Go down the Odoo rabbit hole at your own risk!

2.0 6 years ago

Comments: Deploying Odoo is much more complex and time-consuming then most people recognize at the outset. If you try to set this up on your own, or even go the cheap route with freelancers, expect to fail. If you try to deploy it on a dedicated server with extensive customizations, expect to pay out the nose and get burned. You should be very skeptical of any customizations promised and demand payment terms that incentive getting the project done.

Pros:

Odoo is one of the most customizable solutions out there, great for both goods (inventory management) and services (project management) needs. You can create any number of additional fields or workflows, and works great with the other Odoo applications. Its also a fraction of the cost of similar ERP packages like Dynamics, Netsuite or Oracle.

Cons:

There's really no reason to use Odoo's accounting package separately from other Odoo applications. Its an ERP solution, not a stand-alone acconting package. Odoo also doesn't have any payroll functionality, limited credit card processors and the connection to bank accounts relies on 3rd party plugins. But the biggest drawback is that you need an experienced project manager, an Odoo developer and 6 months of work to implement the solution.

Odoo Response

6 years ago

Hi Anonymous Reviewer! We analyzed your feedback and appreciate the positive as well as constructive feedback you submitted. Without having your company information we have no way to reach out to you to help alleviate the difficulties you have had, however please contact us on our help page at www.odoo.com/help to request assistance. We understand that an implementation can be simple or complex based on the unique conditions of each company, and perhaps in the case of your organization the needs were complex enough to create challenges for you. We provide free resources to remove barrier to entry for small companies, but encourage larger organizations with intricate workflows to consider an official partner who has been trained to handle ERP projects as opposed to a non-certified freelancer (as is common with Netsuite, SAP, Oracle, etc). Our #1 priority is the success of your project, so contact us and let's find a solution together! Thank you for your feedback. :)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Odoo CRM- Operations

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Business problems being solved are:
- Entire working modules for Material raising, Inventory, Logistics and Finance operations being solved.
- Communications across teams in an easy way related to sale order.
- Service modules, Ticketing for customers, Sales lead management also being performed.
- Seamless experience of multi-dimensional teams sitting across different geographies to know the update and nuances of current sale order.
- A bit cumbersome to use and involves complexity across functions.
- Value for money but do require external customizing implementations of functions.
Overall, able to resolve operational gaps with customization of modules to suit the business needs but require adequate time to comprehend the flow.

Pros:

Best part: - Once completely customized different teams like Inventory, Manufacturing, Logistics, Finance can easily integrate on the platform. - Communication across teams for updates on operation process. - Any kind of new functionality needed per se different businesses can be implemented.

Cons:

- It is not easy to use, much effort and training needed to understand. - Requires much of customization and suits to big business which have standard models of functioning. - Requires good internet speed else it works too slow making usage experience quite wary.

Odoo Response

6 years ago

Hi there, thank you for the review. We understand you had some challenges here, we'd like to help! While any ERP software implementation is going to be a challenge, especially when customization becomes necessary. With Odoo, many business processes can be performed right out of the box with zero customization. If you did a self-implementation please get in contact with us or check out some of our online resources about the challenges/customizations you experiences and we can help find the best solution for your company's specific needs. Thanks for being an awesome member of the Odoo community and we look forward to your feedback. :)

Jaimel
Jaimel
Consultor Odoo in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

industrial engineer specialized in the business area, project manager and Odoo consultant

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It is the most complete ERP with the best support and the largest community and continues to grow. Undoubtedly the best proposal for small and medium-sized companies because of its relatively low costs compared to all the characteristics it has. It is the most complete ERP with the best support and the largest community and continues to grow. Undoubtedly the best proposal for small and medium-sized companies because of its relatively low costs compared to all the characteristics it has. Its easy use and the integration of all its modules make it the perfect tool for any company that needs to manage its processes

Pros:

It is a complete business suite that allows the management of multiple applications for managing the processes of a company. It has a friendly interface and has easy handling and configuration in all its modules. all applications handle information in an integrated manner. Integration among all its modules that facilitate its usability. It has a very large community of users and with the best support for this type of applications. It has the best prices in the market and even has a free version for small businesses. undoubtedly has the best price quality ratio among all software of its kind.

Cons:

because it is designed to touch all the areas of management of a company, it has some areas with some weaknesses regarding the competition such as human resources, payroll and adjustments in the configuration of some countries that do not have a lot of presence in their community. Although it is very intuitive and is designed to facilitate user use, knowledge must be available about the processes in question in order to exploit the full potential of this suite.

Halimatun
Halimatun
IT Manager in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Everything in this single platform

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Sales, buying, stocks, finance, projects, and other essential activities are all integrated. As a result, if the consumer has a standard business flow, they may quickly begin using it. Modification is only necessary if the user's workflow differs from that of a typical organization. Odoo is a very versatile piece of software, and If configured correctly, it may become the business's brain.

Cons:

At first, it may seem that too many functions are accessible, but this is not the case. To get things running in a fashion that mirrors your standard process, you'll need to do a lot of adjusting and customizing depending on the business structure and present processes. The pricing is affordable; however, the cost perusers can rise rapidly as additional modules are deployed.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Furniture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy, modern and flexible but quirky

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: The 1-800 line is horrible. You can't speak to anyone. In order to speak to someone knowledgable, you have to submit a ticket and wait DAYS. And sometimes they have no clue how to help you. Or you have to pay for Service Pack Hours, which aren't cheap, and then you use up hours to get good help.
I would also advise new users/admin to try your best to use the default functionality, try not to customize too much b/c sometimes it looks like it's working on face value but then it turns out not to, or it takes a long time when saving new data. You end up having to wait seconds for loading.

Pros:

I like how everything flows together. From contacts, into the quote, into the sale, pulling from product /price list, into accounting. It has helped reduce a lot of redundant work, which we dealt with in our previous systems, which didn't speak to each other.

Cons:

The accounting side of things is lacking. It has odd functionality. Like you cannot have 2 decimal places on your Sales side and 4 decimals places for raw materials/purchasing. Both sides have to be on the same decimal count, which is inconvenient. The bank reconciliation functionality is strange. It's not like Quickbooks, I believe it's more of a European way of reconciling, vs a USA sort of method. We've also had issues with the invoices not pulling from item receipts, they tie back to the PO, and ignore the Item Receipt. Which is also odd to me. So there has been an adjustment period on the accounting side.

Jay
Odoo Developer in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Regarding backend development.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall experience with odoo is good. as per suggestion i would like to suggest that if odoo comes with more technical videos and content then it will increase odoo developers as in India there are many companies of odoo but compare to other technology odoo is less so to attract developers there has to be content from where developer can learn easilty currently in odoo website there is only functional videos no doubts that it helps developer bt for technicall there is only some pdfs or less content so odoo can come up with tehnical how to customise odoo as per customer requiremetns .

Pros:

It covers mostly everything related to many business. so we just have to customized it as per user's requirement.

Cons:

as a developer when we are creating our customised module there are many areas where odoo needs to improve as per my review , one is to sometimes when we are working with custom module after changing some code many times it happen that while updating or installing new module in that databse that database get corrupted so we have to drop/delete dattabse and create new database . please note that when installing same module on new databse it will start working fine so there is no error by coding side . Second thing is when there is any error in py file sometimes it fails to give exact error. if i added new line it will give me error somewhere else part where there is no error here also i checked that where it is giving error is it true or not but it fails to display exact error instead it will give other error so i thinks in error odoo needs improvement.

EDER
Manager in Brazil
Government Administration, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best ERP Open Source Software

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The Odoo is a best open source software. Your use facility is amazing and the best of all: is free! Odoo has OCA Community that help the user in several questions.

Cons:

In Brazil Odoo no have a very good support.

Odoo Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review of Odoo Community! We are happy to hear from developers/users on this edition and see what amazingly talented business experts like yourself do with our free open source offering. Be sure to also check out Odoo Enterprise on our "Editions" page to see what other incredible features Odoo can offer your organization! :)