15 years of helping Indian businesses
choose better software

About Countfire

Countfire is the next generation of estimating software. Get a free 14-day trial. No downloads, no credit card and cancel anytime.

Learn more about Countfire

Pros:

The ease of integration, no software to install locally.

Cons:

There is no 'back' button to help you correct mistakes - you have to rely on not saving changes which is not ideal.

Countfire ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service Software
5.0
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

Countfire has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 197 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Countfire before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (197)

Nicholas
Nicholas
Director of ARCS Division in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Future of Estimating

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Countfire is a dream to use. It does everything I wanted when I imagined a program to help automate the takeoff process, and they are still improving and adding more. The ability to hide the background and define zones are two features that make complicated plans go so much quicker. Out of the hundreds of projects we've completed already, very few have issues that hinder the programs functionality. But when something like that does pop up, there is always somebody to respond quickly and take a look. They always are happy to hear customer feedback and take suggestions. I can't say enough good about the team behind this software, they are going to change the industry. I can't believe a couple of months ago in 2021 I was still printing drawings and using a yellow highlighter.

Cons:

What I like least about the software is the output excel file is a bit complicated compared to what we are used to. I only count devices of one discipline at a time, there is really no reason for more than one sheet. After I download the take off from countfire I always delete about half the rows / columns and transpose the x and y.

Josh
Director in UK
Construction software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Game changing!

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Fantastic!!Been using countfire for 4 years now and its made estimating a lot less laborious

Pros:

The constant improvements and the ease of accurate take offs! Countfire team are always looking for ways to improve the software and take on customer feedback very well!Its also a massive bonus for my business model that all take offs can be done online and no need for a printer! Enables the company to operate from anywhere very easily..

Cons:

A live catalogue of materials would complete this software. It would cut down time going out to get live prices on materials.

Countfire Response

6 months ago

Game changing – Awesome! Thanks Josh You're spot on 👍. At Countfire we work on 2 week cycles, releasing hundreds of platform enhancements each year. Great to hear you're also benefitting from being able to log in and operate from anywhere. It would definitely be useful to have access to a live catalogue of materials. We have a feature request for this – your vote has already been added to it. Brilliant that you've been onboard for 4 years – looking forward to continuing our journey together!

Olivia
Olivia
Junior project manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I love this software

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: This program saves so much time and the exports are easily readable.

Pros:

I love the customer support and the time it saves me.

Cons:

There are some features that are unavailable right now, but they are constantly making improvements. I actually just had something I voted for added to the functionality of the program.

Countfire Response

3 weeks ago

Awesome review – thanks Olivia! We're super proud of our support – we have a live chat to answer any questions you have and offer free online training to make sure you're getting the most out of the software. Great to hear you're able to save time and produce easily-readable outputs. You're spot on – our technical team are constantly working to release hundreds of platform enhancements every year to make Countfire even better. We encourage our users to 'Give feedback' on the orange button at the bottom right hand corner of Countfire.

Billy
Estimator in UK
Construction software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Billy Banyard - Barrie Beard LTD

5.0 last month New

Comments: Very positive and likely to use the software going forward as opposed to others

Pros:

Count fires auto count across multiple drawing has sped up the take off procedure, enabling us to spend more time estimating and putting costs to things than counting.

Cons:

Measure facility on things such as containment drawing. Its not a dislike but similar to other software (plan swift)

Countfire Response

3 weeks ago

Thanks for the amazing review Billy! It's awesome to hear how auto counting symbols across multiple drawings is speeding up your takeoff process, giving you extra time to focus on estimating and costing. We have a feature request for "Improvements to measuring containment", you can add your vote by clicking 'Give feedback' on the orange button at the bottom right corner of Countfire.

Jake
Pre Construction Manager in UK
Construction software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Taking off made easy!

5.0 last year

Pros:

Automatically counting multiple drawings at the same timeAbility to identify any issues/errorsConstantly adding new features

Cons:

So far we have had no issues wit the software. The only very minor issue was not receiving a notification of duplicate symbols on a set of drawings but still not really an issue

Countfire Response

11 months ago

Thanks Jake - really appreciate you leaving this review! Countfire's auto-counting feature is built on our own proprietary image recognition algorithm, this allows the software to automatically recognise selected symbols/text across all the drawings within that discipline. That's spot on - finding errors is easy! You can hide your counted symbols allowing you to visually check your work in the software. Once your takeoff is processed, we also provide a check sheet and pdf drawings so you can be confident your takeoff is 100% accurate. You're right, we are constantly updating and adding new features. To keep up to date with what we're doing you can read our changelogs here https://feedback.countfire.com/changelog Duplicates are a tricky one as it's essentially due to how the drawing has been created - there can be two separate symbols on top of each other and therefore counts as two in the final quantities. Although it rarely happens, when a project is processed we have safety measures in place that notify us if the software suspects any duplicates in your project. As soon as the duplicates get flagged we send out a message detailing where the duplicates have been found and how to fix them.

Eric
Sr. Lighting Engineer in US
Construction software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

CountFire Automated Take-Off Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I could not be more pleased with CounFire. It is fast, accurate, easy to use, and has cut my time to perform a take-off by a factor of 10. Some may question a factor of 10, but try it and see that drawing symbols when counted on one drawing are also counted on all other drawings within the project drawing package automatically. Orientation is not an issue, and items not picked up are easily identified and added to the correct symbol list. Check drawings are also supplied as part of the final report to assure all errors have been resolved.

Pros:

CountFire being a cloud based service gets you up and running quickly. CountFire Sales is there to get you started and introduce you to Technical Assistance and Training. The On-Line Help function is integral to the CountFire Platform allowing you to be able to function seamlessly as you work on projects. I can count drawing elements or make extremely accurate measurements in one tenth of the time I did manually without the cost of drawing reproduction. The Final Reports are perfectly formatted in MSExcel and ready for Bill of Material development.

Cons:

I am still looking for a Con. I thought that since CountFire is in Great Britain that communications might be hampered by five, (5) time zones, but this was not the case. CountFire was there 24X7 to solve my self-inflicted start-up issues.

Cliff
Estimator in UK
Construction software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Review of Countfire

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Still room for improvement however, the product itself makes the life of an estimator easier.

Pros:

Taking off with ease, the zone arrangements and the typical organised nature of the software.

Cons:

Product is a little bit 'choppy'. Requires a more fluid flow especially when panning.

Countfire Response

4 months ago

Thank you for the review – great to hear it's been making your life as an estimator easier! There are a few reasons you may run into "choppy" drawings (lag when zooming in and out or panning the drawing). It's likely to be either internet speed or the complexity of the drawing (i.e. level of detail on the drawing). If you run into this issue definitely contact our support team who will be able to investigate for you – message using the orange button in the bottom right hand corner of the app or email [email protected].

Joshua
Junior Estimator in UK
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

New user of countfire

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Being a new user of the program is has been very user friendly and the tutorials were very informative.

Cons:

one con to mention i noticed straight away is you can min/maximise the task bar on the right to view the drawing full page.

Countfire Response

3 months ago

Thanks for the great review Joshua! Awesome to hear you've found the system user friendly and the tutorials have helped you get to grips with Countfire. Thanks for the feedback on being able to collapse the task bar – we have a feature request for 'Ability to customise the sidebar' and I have added your vote. If you have anymore feedback you can 'Send us a message' or click 'Give feedback' via the orange button in the bottom right hand corner.

Adam
Junior Estimator in UK
Design, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Countfire Review

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Productivity, lets me get a quote together so much quicker!

Cons:

Not many cons at all, the only thing i can think of is the tab down the side possibly could be extended to see more counts/measure when scrolling up and down.

Countfire Response

3 weeks ago

What a great review – thanks Adam! Being able to extend the sidebar to see more count / measure headings would definitely be helpful – we have a feature request for the "ability to customise the sidebar". You can view our feature requests and add your vote on the orange button at the bottom right hand corner of Countfire.

Aaron
Trainee Quantity Surveyor in UK
Construction software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Very good service and the system saves a lot of time

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

the ease of use for take offs is very good

Cons:

some other features can be confusing however the countfire team are more than happy to help out

Countfire Response

3 months ago

Thank you Aaron for the review 😊 Great that you have saved a lot of time and your finding completing take offs easy! Always more than happy to help, if you're finding any features confusing you can send us a message on the orange button in the bottom right hand corner of the app.

Fredericksun
Estimator in US
Construction software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Estimating Takeoff Software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I've only been using it for a month or so but it has been very nice. The support team is phenomenal. They are very good at fixing any problems you might face. There is also a feature request page that you can request new features and everyone can vote on them and then the Countfire team will work on implementing that feature. The Countfire team is very active and always looking for new ways to make the experience better.

Pros:

Features that I like the best: The Support: User Interface: I really like the clean simple user interface. It looks very nice and up to date unlike a lot of the competition. Autocount: In comparison to other software such as Livecount, Planswift, Bluebeam, eTakeoff, etc. Countfire is by far faster. I've used Livecount & Planswift the most. Countfire can do in 2 seconds what Livecount & Planswift takes 3 minutes to do. I can select a fixture type to autocount and it will find every fixture with extreme accuracy on every plan page in 2 seconds or less (Tested with a plan set of 120+ pages) Background Hide: Countfire has the ability to hide the background on a drawing. This is very useful when you have a messy plan set or when all the furniture and details are on the same page as the electrical. You can toggle it on and off. You can also define what is a part of the background and it will hide it. This makes it so much easier to see only the electrical stuff. Hide Counted Symbols. (Only works for symbols counted with autocount). This is a feature that most of the estimating takeoff software has but this does it in a much different way. It will actually hide the symbols that have been counted not just the digitizer count itself. This allows you to toggle off everything that has been counted and now you can see what hasn't been. This only works on the symbols that are counted with autocount. You can still hide the manual digitizer counts but it won't hide the symbol.

Cons:

The estimating side isn't as advanced as some of the other competitors but they are currently working on a big update that will fix most of that.

Craig
Contracts Director in UK
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Integral Part of Our Business

5.0 last year

Pros:

Without the software we wouldn't be able to deliver the speed of work that we are able to do now

Cons:

Sometimes the symbols don't import quite correctly, also doesn't like complex symbols exported from Autocad

Countfire Response

last year

Thanks so much Craig. Thrilled to hear Countfire has sped up what you're able to deliver! With symbols not importing correctly, that's related to the information contained within PDFs and how it's made ready to work on within Countfire. This is always a little tricky as PDFs can (and do!) contain virtually anything, however, we recently completed a major overhaul of this system and the results are significantly improved. With complex symbols, that's related to how many parts each symbol is drawn with. Again, it's a little tricky, because we don't have control over how these symbols are drawn originally, but there are a couple of tricks available to help! The first is to use the in-app editor to simplify these complex symbols down to just the parts that matter – improving automatic counting in the process. The second is to fire us a quick message in-app, we can take a look at your specific project and often make tweaks to improve things.

Mark
Mechanical Estimator in UK
Construction software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mechanical take Offs

5.0 last year

Comments: I have found using Countfire really helpful as it is more accurate than printing and marking drawings and also i believe faster

Pros:

I have found that even though it is mainly for the electrical trade i have adapted it with the help of the Countfire Team to mechanical use

Cons:

Nothing. It has suited all my needs and assists in my day to day works

Countfire Response

11 months ago

Thanks so much for your kind review Mark. Yes, although it's not specifically designed for the mechanical trade, Countfire is flexible and you can adapt it to your way of working. It's great you've found using Countfire really helpful and more accurate than printing and marking drawings. I agree, it's definitely faster too as you don't have to worry about adding up your measurements or losing your place if you're interrupted - Countfire keeps a track of all that for you. Once you've finished your takeoff you also get a set of marked up drawings and a spreadsheet splitting out your quantities.

Luke
Project Assistant in UK
Construction software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Countfire Review

5.0 last year

Comments: It has been a great use so far, saves time greatly and eliminates the needs for printing and doing takeoffs manually

Pros:

It saves an incredible amount of time when doing takeoffs and the other features make it much easier to complete many time consuming tasks. Also the countfire team shows you all of the ins and outs so you always know what you are doing.

Cons:

No negatives at this time.

Countfire Response

8 months ago

Thanks for the review Luke! Awesome to hear Countfire is saving you an incredible amount of time and making it easier to complete tasks. You're spot on – our support team are on hand to provide training and live support to make sure you're confident using Countfire and getting the most out of the software. No negatives at this time – brilliant! If you do come across anything, we always like to receive feedback from our customers. You can submit feedback using the orange support button in-app. It's great that you're benefitting from not having to print and store your drawings too. All of your projects are stored in your account so they're ready for you to dive back in as and when you need to.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Facilities Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

What did we do before this software?

5.0 last year

Pros:

We use solely for the count of off drawings for tendering projects, this has saved immense time for even some of the largest projects, we are able to add additional points and measure accurately to check the designs were supplied. We are then able to provide the spreadsheet produced with our tender with a comprehensive list of where the information came from.

Cons:

If the drawings are not made correctly then the software does struggle to read all symbols this though probably is more down to the original document than Countfire problem,

Countfire Response

12 months ago

Thank you for the great review! Pleased to hear using the software is saving you loads of time. In terms of the software struggling to read all the symbols, that's usually down the way the original drawing was created, yes. We tend to find it's a fairly unusual thing to run into, however, we've also got a number of ways we can step in and help. If you run into it again, please fire us a quick message in-app and one of the Support team will take a look at your project and likely have you sorted in no time.

Antonio
Design Engineer in UK
Construction software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Countfire - The go to Take Off software

5.0 last year

Pros:

The product is very easy to use with excellent customer support if required and lots of tutorials if needed. the system is designed so that items can be counted with ease giving you a final number to evaluate.

Cons:

I would say that the system does not need improvements to state due to the presence of a ticket service which allows users to provide feedback on findings which are constantly reviewed by staff to make he service better.

Countfire Response

12 months ago

Thanks so much Antonio. What an amazing review. Support & feedback is something we're super proud of as a business. Our support team are all former estimators and former Countfire customers, so they know both the product and how to estimate, inside and out. It makes for a really nice experience!

Aigars
Estimator Assistant in Ireland
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

1st review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience has been great.

Pros:

I think it is easy to use and faster then doing a count by printing and manually counting. I like the background drop it makes it easy to see all the things that need to be counted. Another pro is that by using CountFire i don't have to be printing the drawings which helps the environment.

Cons:

sometimes drawings take to long to upload in to the software. I would like to see improvements in the unjoining and joining symbols, the improvement could be that we the users had a choice in which parts of drawings we join or unjoin.

Dougie
Electrical Estimator in UK
Construction software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best thing to happen top take-offs

5.0 last year

Pros:

So easy to use and if there is something you're not sure about Support are very quick to respond and walk/ talk you through it

Cons:

Doesnt integrate with 3 party estimation software which would be nice but not essential

Countfire Response

last year

Thanks Dougie! Really glad you're getting on well with the software. In terms of estimating, while we don't yet have integrations with other tools, we do have our own estimating side that would be well worth a look. It learns from previous estimates and does a huge amount of heavy lifting for you—means you don't need to reinvent the wheel with each estimate you do. If you haven't had a demo already, I'd recommend firing us a quick message in-app and one of our product specialists can jump on a call and walk you though it.

Dave
Electrical Estimator in UK
Construction software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great take off software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: More accurate estimates and better records of take offs

Pros:

Its very easy to use and speeds up the take off the process substantially. The info you get afterwards speeds up inputting of tenders.

Cons:

I would like a great selection of colours when do very large take offs.

Ciaran
Senior Design Engineer in UK
Construction software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

New user review

4.0 last year

Pros:

Its ease of use, it is very intuitive and quick to learn, support is always on hand for when you get stuck.

Cons:

Some features aren't available, e.g. moving all zones together at once, it would be great to have it available on an app too, so you can work on PC and iPad when travelling, although very easy to use, some tasks are time consuming

Countfire Response

7 months ago

Really appreciate the review Ciaran! Awesome to hear you're finding Countfire intuitive and quick to learn. Our support response times are something we're super proud of and we're always happy to help 😊 Thanks for the feedback on the features you'd like to see in the app. We have a feature request for the ability to move zones in bulk – I can see your vote has already been added. You are able to work remotely on a different PC or a laptop but touchscreen support isn't available at the moment – I've added your vote to our feature request for "Touchscreen / iPad support". You'll receive email updates on our progress towards implementing this feature. It would be great to jump on a session to discuss the tasks you find time consuming and get those ironed out for you – pop us a message on the orange button to get this arranged.

John
Director in UK
Construction software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

YPHS Electrical

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: fantastic

Pros:

Easy to use fantastic tool , great support service when you need help

Cons:

It would be an advantage if you could free hand and write comments on your dwgs . Maybe this can be an update

Rogerio Di
Estimator in UK
Construction software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Extraordinary

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I feel have happy when new drawings coming in from companies I tender for simply because I know Countfire will help me getting the job done without much effort and in time.

Pros:

-So easy to use -You can count, measure, select -It saves everything into a spreadsheet

Cons:

It could have a small box in one of the corner where you can see where is the mouse when zoomed in, also it would be useful to the drawing number and title showing somewhere instead of having to go to the bottom drawing to check it.

Adnan
Technician in Austria
Civil Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good, versatile, fast, ongoing development, active support

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The software is a good alternative to the usual means of working with large plans, as it saves a lot of time and space/printing materials

Cons:

One of the cons is the requirement of the chrome browser, since the additional software isn't supported by the IT Department.

damian
Electrical Estimator in UK
Construction software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software

5.0 last year

Comments: brilliant

Pros:

the checks - and the excel output - this gives me the perfect platform to begin my estimation

Cons:

to be honest the is no features i don't like - really happy with software

Mark
Project Design Manager in UK
Design, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

quality time saving product

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: excellent quality service provided at all times

Pros:

The software has given us more time to produce quality accurate take-off's, enabling more productivity and scope to be successful with tender submissions

Cons:

fast effective easy to use tools, could do with a duplication tool to add additional missed items to the existing plan using the same icon

Countfire Response

2 years ago

Thanks Mark! Great that Countfire has allowed you to focus more on the nitty gritty of tender submissions! With adding symbols to an existing plan, we do have manual counting tools, though the symbols added with that are limited to a set of geometric shapes and wouldn't be identical to what was on the drawing. We do have a feature request related to this though, and I've added your vote towards it just now