About Jolt

Jolt is an app-based software used to manage daily operations and hourly workers, giving real-time feedback to owners and managers.

Learn more about Jolt

Pros:

The client I'm working with now thought it would be useful to him and his employees.

Cons:

Changing availability has been difficult for my team. They will enter information and it will disappear.

Jolt ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

Jolt has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 276 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Jolt before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (276)

Debra
Debra
Quality Assurance Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Purchased the Jolt labeler to label in process product, but we are using it for so much more!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Labels for in process and finished products, Very simple to use. Using for scheduling, time clock management, messages, alerts, communication, and accountability of personnel. They need to log in on an ipad to the software, and they can get their tasks right there that were set up for them. Excellent product! We are using this for so much more than what we originally purchased it for.

Pros:

Originally purchased to label in process product. But when we started building labels, we realized we can also make finished product labels and apply them easier. We just used these for the first time for the entire day and couldn't be happier. Great quality and simple. This software has so many features and now our production manager is using this software for our staff. It can be used as a time clock, for messages and alerts, for accountability of workers tasks, personnel scheduling, and much more. We plan to take full advantage of all it can do for us. We seem to find something new every day that this can do for us. For the price, along with the excellent support whenever needed, it is one of the best values I have found in a long time. I cannot recall a time in my career that I have been excited about a labeler!

Cons:

I think we will have to use this a bit longer to find something we don't like about this. The one item we changed was that the labeler comes with 1" x 1" labels, which were too small for our use. Our account manager sent us the labels we needed immediately.

Michael
Food & Beverage Front Of House Manager in US
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software for scheduling, food & beverage companies

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have cut my time that is spent making the schedule down from the previous program I used.

Pros:

I have the ability to schedule as many positions to multiple employees for our Renaissance faire food and beverage staff..this is crucial when I need to have an employee work in multiple locations through out the day.

Cons:

I am unable to send the schedule to just a select employee or employees. Currently I have to send it to the entire staff.

Agnes Serwaa
Agnes Serwaa
Web developer, product/graphic designer in Ghana
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Boost your business performance with Jolt!

5.0 last week New

Comments: Jolt is a great and makes works simpler, easier and faster

Pros:

I find the option of using Jolt as a centralized platform for communicating and collaborating with employees, reducing the need for phone calls, emails, or in-person meetings very beneficial

Cons:

I found the learning curve a quite steep in the initial stages and the initial cost of investment is a bit on the higher side

Darrick
Owner in US
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ineffective product and poor business practices

1.0 last month New

Comments: Overall incredibly dissatisfied with the product, service, and especially business practices. We realized after several months of trying to get our staff to adopt the software that it wasn't going to happen so we inquired about terminating the agreement and monthly payments. We had not been using the software for some time and hoped that Jolt would let us out as a professional gesture. I acknowledge that it was in their contract that we were committed for another 9 months but I have never been in a situation where a company locked me into an agreement when I was completely dissatisfied, was not using the product and couldn't resolve the issues. It just was not a good fit for us. Jolt refused to terminate the agreement and proceeded to bill us our monthly fee for almost an entire year of us not using the product at all. I would never do that to a dissatisfied customer but Jolt has no problem so be careful when signing and either try to go month to month or be darn sure it is the solution for you. There is no way out.

Pros:

The promises sounded good. Results did not materialize.

Cons:

Poor adoption from staff, little to no assistance from jolt on that. Thermometers never worked correctly resulting in bad or no readings. When we tried to send back we were outside the warranty period of only a few months so were stuck with them. Ended up as trash. Always difficult to get in touch with customer service.

Jolt Response

last month

We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with Jolt. We strive to ensure that our customers are happy with our products and services and we would like to make this right. We are sorry to hear that you have had difficulties getting your staff to adopt the software. We encourage you to continue reaching out to our Customer Success team and let us know how we can improve this situation. We value your business and we would love the opportunity to serve you better.

Angelo
Associate Product Manager in Benin
Internet, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Supercharged Performance with Jolt

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Overall, I'm very pleased with my experience with Jolt. It has greatly improved my workflow and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

Pros:

Jolt has been a great addition to my workflow. It's incredibly fast, reliable, and easy to use. The intuitive user interface helps me get things done quickly and efficiently. The customer service is also top-notch, and they're always quick to respond to my questions or concerns.

Cons:

The only downside I've found with Jolt is that the pricing can be a bit steep for some users. There are also some features that I wish were included but are not.

Jolt Response

2 months ago

Thank you for your review, Angelo. We're so glad to hear that Jolt has been a great addition to your workflow. We appreciate your feedback, and we'll be sure to take that into consideration for future updates. We're happy to hear that you appreciate our fast, reliable performance and customer service. We'll continue to strive to provide the best products and services possible to our customers.

Jaime
Food Tech in US
Restaurants, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Support from CSM

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Jolt has been great so far! Everyone has been super helpful and very accommodating. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] has been doing implementation with me and he is a ROCK STAR. He always makes time for a Zoom when I need it. He has great knowledge and is absolutely a delight to work with.

Pros:

We LOVE the lists! We love the LOG BOOK! We LOVE the information library. With a few tweaks, scheduling could be outstanding as well.

Cons:

Scheduling performance. I have provided requests to help make it better.

Jolt Response

10 months ago

Hi Jaime, Thank you for reviewing Jolt on Capterra! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and value you as a Jolt customer.

Ramy
COO in US
Restaurants, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid LMS

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I've used Jolt over 2 companies, and it is far superior to some of the other systems that have a huge start up cost

Pros:

Easy to build and use. Vey short learning curve. Highly effective. Eliminates the need for paper!

Cons:

UI not as inviting as some other systems

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best platform for business and scheduling

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: This has been great and is very helpful This will be improving the work flow and reduces the time

Pros:

This is useful for tracking down the best employee in a team based on his performance by using the list featureThe scheduling is easier and it also reduces the time taken for the managerThis can also be used in the mobile phone very easily

Cons:

In some of the cases it is little bit slowsometimes it is difficult to get in contact with the customer service

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A Very useful Software

5.0 last month New

Comments: As a User, I am very happy to use Jolt. It makes my life very easy. It is saving a lot of my manual work. And there are a lot of things I don't have to remember. Jolt can remember those and can remind me of the correct time.

Pros:

I mostly like the simplicity of using this software. Managing employees and tasks is very straightforward in the Jolt. A beginner can use it with less guidance very well.

Cons:

Not as such but if possible they can improve the UI little.

Jolt Response

last month

Thank you for your review of Jolt. We are pleased to hear enjoying the simplicity of the software. We understand your suggestion for improving the UI, and we are always looking for ways to make our product easier and more efficient to use. We consider customer feedback essential to our ongoing product development, and we appreciate your input. We are confident that you will continue to find Jolt a useful tool for managing your employees and tasks, and we thank you for your continued support.

Jitendra
Researcher in India
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Outstanding Customer Support from Jolt that is Simple to Use

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: GreatThank you

Pros:

For me, That was a wonderful experience. Employees can easily explore and pick up the program rapidly because of Jolt's user-friendly design. Jolt is adaptable, so organizations may modify it to match their requirements and work processes. Businesses may benefit from this by increasing production and efficiency.

Cons:

It might be more adaptable for specialized activities, but other than that, there aren't many modifications required. Because it's a program, unforeseen events occur occasionally, but the service staff is always prepared to help.

Brandon
General Manager in US
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Pretty good overall

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: bad the time I've saved building my schedule is astronomical. Everything is just so easy to move around. After I put some projections in, I can see plainly how much money i'm wasting on labor and where I'm understaffed. Also, when I used to build my schedules, I would get complaints from employees all the time about how I scheduled them on a day they wanted off or outside of their availability or too little or too many hours or whatever the case may be. Now I get hardly any and when I do, I can say "well did you give me your availability?" The answer is always no and then it's their responsibility to solve it

Pros:

The administrative side of the software is pretty intuitive, but advanced enough to really customize. I have not had a lot of time to play around with the other features just yet, but the scheduler is top notch. I especially like being able to make a template with unassigned employees. Every week I just drag and drop my crucial shifts to the people that can fit them and then build my schedule from there. Really the schedule building feature is just fantastic overall. I must have saved at least 6 hours of time every week since I started using Jolt if not more. Having availability and time off requests laid out over the scheduler is so nice. I employ a lot of college students whose availability can change weekly. Them having the ability to change their availability on the fly is incredibly useful for me. I used to compare my schedule to hand written notes and an availability spreadsheet. I couldn't imagine going back. Last thing I have to add is the customer service from Jolt is top notch. And I mean REALLY great. They set me up with a personal representative of which I have all contact information I need to contact at anytime directly. Every time I send an email to Jolt, it is answered almost immediately. If I bring up a question they don't have an answer for, the make an effort to find it and always get back to me. My rep Johnathan is like the friendliest guy I've ever talked to. The Customer service of this company is reason enough to purchase the software.

Cons:

The fact that it is browser based. I don't care how fast your connection is, sometimes it's going to lag. Also, what's with needing an iPad for half the features?. What if I want someone to be able to see everyone on the schedule, but not change the schedule? And by far the most annoying thing is the Jolt Lite app. It's not intuitive so I end up putting availability in myself for employees that can't figure it out. The interface of the app looks pretty bare. Like a webpage from the late 90's. When I get a push notification, it would be nice if the app opened up to whatever it is I need to approve/deny instead of the default page I set, or the last page I was on. And availability is set as "unavailable to work?" It should really be changed to when the employee is available to work, or call it "Unavailability" or something, it's just confusing.

Danielle
Owner in US
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Love it for our food trucks & catering operations

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We use Jolt to manage the operations for our food trucks and catering services. Since we are totally mobile and often have many events occurring simultaneously, the Lists feature allows for greater oversight and accountability when it's impossible to be everywhere at one time. Jolt has greatly improved the communication between everyone in our team by utilizing the Announcements features. I love that information can be instantly sent out to our staff, we can verify that they read the information, and, most importantly, that they understand the information by requiring quick quizzes based on the topics covered. Moving away from traditional pen and paper checklists and cumbersome communications binders has been overwhelmingly embraced by everyone. We have also seen a reduction in our food waste by utilizing the Date Code Labels. Marking our food items with a clearly readable expiration date has greatly improved our "first in, first out" practices. Additionally, stamping each prepped item with the name of the staff member who prepared it has forced greater accountability that all food items are prepared correctly (and allows management to address individually anyone who needs re-training on preparing a specific item). Lastly, I can't say enough good things about Jolt support. They are extremely responsive and helpful when questions arise, and the application is constantly improving with new features added based on customer requests and feedback. We have used Jolt for a little over a year now, and I wish we had started using it years ago!

Taran
General Manager in US
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Jolt Zebra printer

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have been using our new printer for Jolt and I LOVE IT! I really love the fact that every item prepped now is labeled with who prepped it, when they did so, and the EXACT time of expiration. The fact that it uses the internal clock to time stamp items is amazing. This keeps everyone honest. There is no fudging times or dates to extend foods shelf life.
The ease of use is incredible. I mean there is not much more to say on that. It took us a couple of tries to figure out the best way to label our items received from Sysco but then a simple answer occurred to me. Before even starting to put up the truck, simply read the invoice and print ALL labels needed and it is a breeze! After that more specific labels can be made using the custom label. We use it to mark the weights of our meats so now daily inventory is a snap. No more trying to decipher messy handwriting. I have even gone so far as to use it to label items for caterings to give things a more professional look.
I do wish that custom labels could be saved for repeat use. That is maybe my only complaint about this printer. I keep it in my office to save it from the wear and tear of daily kitchen activities. It is an extremely helpful device that has streamlined our labeling and made it much more effective as well. Having this now and using it all day every day, I hate to think of life without it.
Thank you,

Pros:

Ease of use. Pictures and date stamps that keep employees honest. training new employees is a breeze.

Cons:

Lack of ability to personalize to individual locations needs or preferances

Tyler
Operations Services in US
Restaurants, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Everything in One Place

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We now have 40 locations using Jolt for our daily checklists and logs. It is great having quick access to any list or food safety log in a matter of seconds. It has improved our team's accountability in getting the necessary details completed accurately on a daily basis. Not only does it help set the restaurant up for success in serving our customers, the Health Department also appreciates our electronic temperature logs!
Some features I would like to see improve are capabilities within the way lists can be setup, such as conditional formatting and multiple items under a parent item. I would also like to see more customization around notifications. The notifications are one of the best features of Jolt! The goods news is, the Jolt team is very receptive to feedback and always tries to make client's ideas come to life.
Overall, I would highly recommend Jolt to any restaurant looking to streamline their systems and eliminate all of the paper and clip boards!

Pros:

The lists capabilities are currently the biggest benefit to us, but we have also started testing the Zebra printer and scheduling.

Cons:

We like the scheduling feature but since it does not integrate with our systems, it's not the best option for us. I would also like to see more customization for the way lists can be configured, such as conditional formatting and more that one measurable under a parent item. More customization surrounding notifications would be helpful as well.

Chris
Co Founder and Managing Director in Australia
Food & Beverages, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

JOLT- A fantastic piece of software

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We engaged Jolt to eliminate our daily paper checklists in our franchise business. We had looked at a number of solutions and decided to give Jolt a trial. The software is extremely easy to use from the back end, user friendly on the front end and bug free. We do no have any issues with glitches and it synchronises within seconds with new updates. This means we can update the whole group in a matter of seconds. Staff don't even need to be notified of small changes to lists . We can control duties simply by adding them to a list and as the staff work through they may stumble across a new item. The system ensures accountability by giving each staff member a login. Lists can be reviewed at any time by allocated mangers/higher access. We also use Jolt for all audits. i.e safety, presentation, cleanliness etc. Each store then receives instants feedback and a total score via email automatically. Managers can then look through their weaknesses and work on getting them corrected. Usually this process would take personal from head office to communicate and follow up. I have never written a review as i'm often time poor but this piece of software and support from Jolt is fantastic and worth every cent.

Pros:

It works

Cons:

Login could be a touch faster as you need to find your name.

Ben
Owner in Australia
Hospitality, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jolt your business

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have been using Jolt for around 3 years. I have also encouraged many other to use the product in operating their Quick Service restaurants as I feel it is an amazing operational tool. Prior to using Jolt I was creating my own intranet to manage tasks, projects, employee details, etc. Jolt could fulfill all of these requirements and ran on IOS making hardware implementation simple. I have seen the feature set grow over the years and am confident the product will continue to evolve.

Pros:

IOS (although would be nice to have it run on Android too,) great at tasks / list management.

Cons:

Bad UX design both on client and web / back end. Communications (announcements) requires time clock use (i have submitted this several times). Cannot assign tasks to security groups (only allows individuals), reporting on client is rough. A bit better on backend, but still challenging,.

Erica
General Manager in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My experience with Jolt has been amazing. The team made the setup of our 3 locations a breeze.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The support you get from the Jolt Team is great. They are quick to respond to any questions or concerns. Scheduling now takes us half the time it did before. We manage multiple stores in two states and this system has made us much more efficient and able to hold our team accountable for task that need to be completed on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. We also save time and money on training and daily operations by using the Jolt dating system and printer.

Cons:

Our goal with Jolt was to eliminate paper (Time off request, School Schedules, Checklist, etc.) and it has been able to do that for us. The last thing we are converting to paperless is our cup count form. Travis was able to help us build one in Jolt but it would be even better if the list would calculate the totals. To setup up everything does take time but the bulk importing and ability to assign list to multiple locations makes it much easier.

Matthew
Club Manager in UK
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent software to help keep you in control of your business

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: giving me greater control of my teams, helping control our H&S and giving the teams the ability to manage their days better.

Pros:

The Jolt software gives you everything you need to manage daily, monthly and ad-hoc tasks for your team and helps your team keep track of what they should be doing. I found the setup to be very easy and straight forward Jolt customer training and online training videos are excellent and make the entire process very easy. Depending on the number of departments you have (we have 5) I would suggest rolling this out to one or two departments at a time and use their feedback to fine-tune it before rolling out to others. I also found it easier to initially set up just a few checklists to get the teams use to them before adding more and I would strongly recommend encouraging team feedback. Jolt offers very good value for money for a number of features it has and the support is excellent from the Jolt team, we had this up and running within two weeks of signing up. The software is very adaptive and I would say you are only limited by your own imagination on how you use it.

Cons:

Not a lot to be honest! I think it would be great to see some more functionality added to the logbook to flag issues to specific people.

Jennifer
Admin Asst in US
Food Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Digital Manager

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: The staff was worried about using this product, but after a simple training, they are running with it. Love that as they come across things that need to be tweaked, that it is so easy to go in and change things up. One of the other things about JOLT that is fabulous is there customer service. Any questions we have are answered either with a simple email or at our weekly training sessions!

Pros:

This product is so easy to use, to build lists/change lists and reports and the best part...NO MORE PAPER!!

Cons:

We haven't come across any thing about Jolt that we don't like...

Jolt Response

7 months ago

Hi Jennifer, Thank you for reviewing Jolt on Capterra! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and value you as a Jolt customer.

Geraldine
Director of Admin in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very helfpul, very convenient!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Love that this can be an app where Employees can easily access their schedule, release, switch, and pick up shifts and even request time off and change their availability. It makes very important information so simple and easy to communicate. I just love this, we use it a lot for work.

Cons:

I just wish the times are in 15 min increments instead of only hourly. Makes it easier to check how many people is scheduled per 15 minutes at a glance.

Kyle
Kitchen director in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great labels! Haven't explored other things

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Labels are awesome! I honestly don';t have much experience with any of the other features. However, the labels save time. They are super easy to use. And my team members put labels on everything willingly without grumbling The customer support has been awesome when I needed printer assistance. They updated the user interface to assist us! Great all around

Christi
Marketing/Catering Mgr in US
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

WOW! What a great additiona!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We were struggling with the ability to track who was doing (or not doing) what with our checklists and systems. JOLT has truly given us control over what our restaurant looks like, how our food is prepared, and how closely we are following health department regulations. We are now able to hold our employees accountable when the job is less than our expectations, as well as rewards those that are going above and beyond what is required. Anytime I have had any questions or issues with the product, Dan has been able to answer all my questions and point me in the right direction. I strongly recommend JOLT to anyone who has employees! :)

Pros:

Easy to use

Cons:

Data entry when establishing - but now I find out that Dan would be willing to set that all up for me, so wish I would have had him when we first started using JOLT! :)

Tzip
Office Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great program that works with a growing business. It was very easy to learn and to train employees

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Quick login, neat site, great customer service that is always looking out for us. The program is simple enough to train other employees in just a few short minutes.

Cons:

The back end of the site took a little while to learn. Settings and managing lists can be a bit confusing to find, but once you do, you don't forget it.

Michael
Co-founder in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An indispenible part of our service excellence!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Less micromanaging. More productive staff.

Pros:

This product really helps us optimize our retail staff productivity and remain engaged in their jobs. Task are easy to manage once everything is set up.

Cons:

Would love a feature to more easily manage maintenance schedules on a large number customer equipment (ie. rental bikes).

Ashley
Director of Human Resources in US
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Jolt Software has changed the day to day operations of our store for the better!

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Faster scheduling, easily accessible checklist, bluetooth printer

Pros:

It's easy to use with so many options to be able to use at our store. We went from using so much paper to using iPads. Scheduling is so much easier and takes way less time than any other software that I have used.

Cons:

Sometimes a little glitchy with both apps and the website. I have had days where the lite app has crashed and we weren't able to find our schedule; however, it was quickly resolved.