15 years of helping Indian businesses
choose better software

About Proto.io

Web and mobile-based solution that helps businesses build, integrate, animate, design, edit, preview, and export prototypes.

Learn more about Proto.io

Pros:

Has all the features to develop a high fidelity web product prototyped with integrated user testing tools as well as a supportive phone app to see designed prototypes in real.

Cons:

The interface is quite difficult for beginners. Forces to use itself: Proto-io is made in such a way that it discourages the user to use any other apps.

Proto.io ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service Software
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Proto.io has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 20 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Proto.io before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (20)

Ashwin
Ashwin
Student in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Rapid Development; implement the "Fail fast, fail often" mantra

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

You can convert your thoughts into an actual experience. It really helps to be able to visualize how the final product would look like and at the same time, interact with the interface.

Cons:

It is a bit expensive to work with, but I have felt that the features are worth the price if you can afford it.

Koutarou
Koutarou
Software Engineer in Japan
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

It has an intuitive and easy to use drag and drop based user interface

4.0 last year

Comments: Allows validation of design ideas and concepts before investing time and resources in development, reducing the risk of errors and subsequent changes. Improves the quality and user experience of mobile and web applications by enabling prototypes that meet the needs and expectations of end users. Increases design and development team productivity and efficiency by facilitating iterative work, feedback and project delivery. Proto.io provides all known keyboard shortcuts, allowing us to switch tools and continue working quickly. Use the Editor in a color theme and customize the background of the workbench for our comfort. Quickly share the prototype with multiple people using different links with customizable Share and Security settings.

Pros:

Proto.io allows you to create interactive and realistic interfaces without programming. It is a design and prototyping tool for mobile and web applications. Proto.io has a simple and intuitive interface and a complete library of components. It allows you to create high-fidelity prototypes that can be tested on real devices or in the browser with animations, transitions and gestures. Secure user management and access should be everyone's priority, whether you are a small business or a large enterprise. With this, you can get the security and convenience of a centralized login system for all team members and users. It allows you to help us take control of data security with a simple and seamless integration process.

Cons:

May have performance or compatibility issues with some browsers or devices, especially if prototypes are complex or have many elements.

Mila
owner/administrator in US
Food & Beverages, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

do not use it - find a better alternative

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: wish I could have never heard of it...

Pros:

nothing I like about it - it seemed like a good working tool at first - but not...

Cons:

DO NOT USE proto.io !!! еfirst of all - they have so many bugs... my developer and I had to contact customer service many times just to find out there are bugs and we need to change a few things... and it's just not worth it overall. There is a better services out there - just do your search. Also there is no way of exporting your project. I had a slight delay with going forward with my project and needed to pause my subscription - there is a "parking fee" every month. I have been a loyal customer for over a year and paid a lot of money over this period, then I parked it for a few months and still paid monthly "parking" fees... but when I realized I need to put the project on hold - until further notice proto.io customer service was not helpful at all - they said there is no way to back up the project and save it. we live in 21 century - the century of IT - task like this is so simple - they just want you to continue paying them.... If I cancel my subscription - my project will be deleted forever... the only way to keep it is to continue paying ... scumbags! think twice before start using them.

Nimanthi
Nimanthi
Proto.io in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

is a ground-breaking web application for making completely intelligent

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Extraordinary prototyping apparatus that is a stage above envision yet not all that thick you need a degree to utilize it. On the off chance that you need to make intriguing micro-interactions with regards to your models, Proto.io is the least demanding and most attractive approach to accomplish it.

Pros:

Proto.io is a ground-breaking web application for making completely intelligent, high-loyalty portable application models. It enables fashioners to make versatile application screens, apply for screen advances and characterize contact occasions for each plan component on the screen. This makes an astounding model, which will work, and feel like a genuine application. Extra gadget occasions, for example, screen introduction are likewise bolstered. Models can be seen and experienced intelligently inside the program however more imperatively can be propelled in the real cell phone, for example, iPhone, iPad or proportionate, making a stunning client experience. 1. Level Scroll: One of the striking highlights of Proto-io is the even looking over an element which isn't accessible in a large portion of the applications in the market. It consolidates this element easily. 2. Similarity: Proto-io is good with programming like Sketch, the vector illustrations proofreader. Along these lines, the model can be utilized on Sketch too. UI/UX originators initially have memberships to Sketch and accordingly can chip away at the two stages for application improvement. 3. Client Testing: Proto-io model is perfect with usertesting.com. This enables the planner to get model surveys easily. 4. More highlights: While some applications spend significant time in giving a specific capacity, proto-io is the handyman, There are numerous approaches to assemble these intuitive models. 5. Nume

Cons:

1. Interface: It sets aside some effort to become acclimated to. Any planner may require some assistance before utilizing proto-io highlights to its fullest. In any case, looking over highlights more than remunerate the issue. The interface is very troublesome for learners. 2. Powers to utilize itself: Proto-io is made so that it debilitates the client to utilize some other applications. Any originator has a membership for Sketch and might want to deal with it flawlessly. 3. Movable measurements: Any model doesn't have movable measurements. An application intended for the iPhone won't take a shot at some other Android telephones. The application must be redeveloped to be utilized on another arrangement of measurements. 4. Sets aside an effort to stack for different applications like on usertesting.com In general: Best Customer Service, When I attempted to build up an application, my screen was slacking a bit. Be that as it may, the client administration got past it. They were useful and brief. Proto-io is a basic and intelligent stage. Great client administration more than makes up for the cons.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My best prototype tool for any UI UX project

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Best Customer Service, When I tried to develop an app, my screen was lagging a bit. But the customer service helped to get through it. They were helpful and prompt. Proto-io is a simple and interactive platform. Good customer service more than compensates for the cons. All these functions may be used on a free trial, but it takes time to get used to.

Pros:

Proto-io is an interactive app that lets you develop prototypes without any coding. The app is quite the experience and a one-off for UI/UX app designers considering that it allows scrolling containers with such ease. The platform has is compatible with many software in the market. Proto-io has definitely set the league apart when it comes to prototype app design. Pros: 1. Horizontal Scroll: One of the salient features of Proto-io is the horizontal scrolling feature which is not available in most of the apps in the market. It incorporates this feature with ease. 2. Compatibility: Proto-io is compatible with software like Sketch, the vector graphics editor. This way, the prototype can be used on Sketch as well. UI/UX designers originally have subscriptions to Sketch and thus can work on both platforms for app development. 3. User Testing: Proto-io prototype is compatible with usertesting.com. This allows the designer to get prototype reviews with ease. 4. More features: While some apps specialize in providing a particular function, proto-io is the jack of all trades, There are many ways to build these interactive prototypes. 5. Multiple Projects: Proto-io lets you build multiple projects at once. These projects may even defer in the dimensions of the software. One of them maybe for iPhone while the other maybe for Windows desktop.

Cons:

Cons: 1. Interface: It takes time to get used to. Any designer may need some help before using proto-io features to its fullest. But scrolling features more than compensate the problem. The interface is quite difficult for beginners. 2. Forces to use itself: Proto-io is made in such a way that it discourages the user to use any other apps. Any designer has a subscription for Sketch and would like to work on it seamlessly. 3. Adjustable dimensions: Any prototype doesn't have adjustable dimensions. An app designed for the iPhone won't work on any other Android phones. The app has to be redeveloped to be used on another set of dimensions. 4. Takes time to load for other apps like on usertesting.com

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This one is the best prototyping tool to use scripting functionality

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Animation and connection between pages, script language easy to implement

Cons:

Confusing part is the timeline transition

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

High Quality Prototyping/Storyboarding made easy

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It has been really good and I have completed many different mockups before creating actual applications.

Pros:

It is very easy to learn and has all the necessary features right on the front main screen. It makes high fidelity prototyping very easy to create and easily shared with the team.

Cons:

The only hardship I found was that proto.io is its own software and is not really tied with the bigger companies like adobe or Microsoft to which a bigger company like ours has complete access to.

Krishna
Front end developer in Nepal
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Best ui design tool for beginners

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience with proto.io was really appealing because I was able to design a mobile application as intended with the help of proto.io

Pros:

One of the best thing I like about this application is that it is beginner friendly .I recently got a assessment to design a user interface of a mobile application.I tried couple of ui design tool to accomplish the assessment but found them really complex to use later I switch to proto.io and complete my task with in a week using proto.io . Ready made template , useful icon and wonderful design environment made my project really promising.

Cons:

I found proto.io as a complete package but I still want the developer team to add more advanced ready made template so that beginner user can get advance design idea from them.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

world class prototyping tool for those who want to go a step above invision.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Great prototyping tool that's a step above invision but not so dense you need a degree to use it.

Pros:

If you want to create interesting microinteractions in your prototypes Proto.io is the easiest and best looking way to achieve it.

Cons:

Proto.io's import features could use improvement - but for a web-based prototyping platform its pretty solid.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

best prototyping tool I've used

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I've loved using Proto.io so far. Being able to create prototypes that behave so much like how I want them to behave allows the dev team to get a better understanding of my designs.

Pros:

Proto.io is great for making interactive prototypes. I found a lot of tools that let you create screens and wireframes to map out the user's journey, but none of them have the functionality like Proto.io to make each and every element interactive (hovering, swiping, tapping, etc.). You can get really intricate with your screens' behavior.

Cons:

As far as I know you can't easily create a component in one project and share it to another. There is a 'shared assets' feature, which lets you easily access files like a logo and use it on all projects. But I'd like to be able to create components and easily re-use them. There is a workaround - you can open a project and then copy certain parts of it to another project.

Sarah
Visual Designer in US
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Beautiful & intuitive, but lacking a few key features

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

First of all, I have to say that I used this prototype to build a website prototype and I know that is primarily for designing mobile apps; however, it worked really well. I was able to create transitions that simulated clicking through actual websites, and it was easy for my team to see and implement my vision.

Cons:

Integrating video interactions was difficult at times, and once I started to add a large amount of interactions the prototype started lagging. Little bugs started to happen, like eliminating spaces between words and not saving small changes.

Tanuj
Student in India
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Proto.io: Rapid Prototyping Simplified

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, proto.io has been a fantastic tool for designing prototypes. It is simple and efficient to use and provides everything you would need to design great prototypes.

Pros:

As someone who occasionally has to design prototypes for UI/UX-based college projects, proto.io has been a breeze to use. It was in fact recommended by our instructor as well and is a great tool to design prototypes seamlessly and efficiently. It provides all the tools you would need to populate artboards and provides a wide array of tools for prototyping interactions as well.

Cons:

While proto.io is a great tool, it could perhaps use a free version (with limited functions).

Mohit
Mohit
Product Designer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

One of the best app Prototyping softwares I'vo come across. Cloud based with easy to use interface

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

One of the easiest and swift software experience provided. Has all the features to develop a high fidelity web product prototyped with integrated user testing tools as well as a supportive phone app to see designed prototypes in real.

Cons:

The trial is limited to 15days. Also after the project is complete, linking the screens is still a bit of messy and doesn't work as expected in the phone app.

Vino Kumar
UI / UX Designer in India
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

One of the best Prototyping Software

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The features to develop a high fidelity web product prototyped with integrated user testing tools as well as a supportive phone app. Clean UI and HTML exporting is really a great feature

Cons:

I used Trial version, so I didn't get an opportunity to explore much because of the trial limitation. I liked the tool. JUST IN MIND allow the free user to use more features, just an example.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Great for creating high-fidelity prototypes

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall I am very pleased with the final results this site has given me.

Pros:

I love that fact that you can design in both Android and iOS for your prototype, there is such a diverse amount of platforms you can prototype for, as well as create your own custom dimensions for the screen you are working with. This was the first prototyping software I used and I had a fun and educational experience with it.

Cons:

It took me a little while to get the hang of how the software worked, with linking screens together and adding all the elements to the pages.

Sharleen
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

A bit of a learning curve but great tool to have

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Proto.io is really great for creating interactions and getting feedback on these interactions without having to go and spend hours coding. As with any system, there is a learning curve but it is similar to Sketch and is easy enough to grasp after playing with it for a while

Mathias
Researcher and teaching assistant in Germany
Civil Engineering, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Simple tool, with some issues

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Proto.io's greatest feature is it's interactive and easy-to-learn interface. It is a great tool to design and especially dynamically change prototypes online without the need of hardware.

Cons:

As a web-based tool, it relies on data import from local files. That import feature is buggy and unstable, resulting in messed up imports from time to time.

Samuel
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Build Your Prototype In Just a Few Steps

5.0 12 years ago

Comments: This app is really great! I set up my site in literally just a few minutes. Of course I took some more time to make the site very pretty, but Proto.io is a tool which is very easy to use (no need to ready any instructions) and brings impressive results in a short time.

Pros:

Very clean UI HTML exporting is allowed

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Proto is goto for mobile prototyping!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Really like that we can include pretty much any mobile gesture in the prototype

Cons:

wish Proto or any prototyping tool either (1) offered direct publishing or (2) better integration with tools such as Bubble or Squarespace

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good way to create mockups

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like the ability to create mockups before beginning a new development project.

Cons:

The software is very good, but a desktop platform would be nice.