15 years of helping Indian businesses
choose better software

Lightspeed eCommerce Reviews

About Lightspeed eCommerce

Lightspeed eCom gives your online store the traction it deserves with built-in marketing, SEO tools and centralized inventory.

Learn more about Lightspeed eCommerce

Pros:

We can quickly find the status of a job and located special orders for the customer. The software has tons of features that are customizable in just about anyway you can think of.

Cons:

All we want to do is sign up for another year and it seems very difficult to do so.

Lightspeed eCommerce ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service Software
3.6
Features
3.6
Value for Money
3.4

Likelihood to recommend

6.3/10

Lightspeed eCommerce has an overall rating of 3.7 out 5 stars based on 18 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (18)

Sort by

Have you used Lightspeed eCommerce before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (18)

Bryan
Owner in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Lightspeed Wins Hands Down

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I can't say enough about their support. Any questions I have are immediately taken care of. Their technical support team is knowledgeable, professional, and courteous.

Pros:

My client was looking for one POS solution for his two brick-and-mortar stores and an existing Ecommerce website. We looked at many companies and without reservation recommended Lightspeed.

Cons:

None. We have not found anything we don't like about Lightspeed.

Katia
Owner in Canada
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Accessibility and ease for a small business

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I no longer feel like my retail business is "out of the loop". With eCommerce I can feel confident like any of my competitors and can be on the same comparing category.

Pros:

When I was in the market for an Ecom platform for my retail business urgently since the pandemic closed our doors to the public, I was so pleased to find that Lightspeed offered great templates that could be customized and loaded for a great professional and appealing website in half the time it would have taken me to have one built and launched. I am happy to say we just celebrated our year anniversary and are very pleased with the ease and income it has generated so far. We are a longstanding family business since 1978 and creating an Ecom presence was something we were looking to expand with. Our clients constantly compliment our Website and even go as far as browse the pages and styles they like to then come by and try on their choices. Lightspeed Ecommerce perfectly complimented our Lightspeed POS system.

Cons:

I had some small issues in regards to content loading and where the content would show up on the platform template but a quick call to support would resolve the matter and they even offered to walk me through the process so I could resolve the matter should it be needed in the future.

Mike
Owner in Canada
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Horrible Choice for a Restaurant POS

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: We had the software for less than a month and had to pull the plug on it. That pretty much sums it up.

Pros:

There is nothing to like about this POS solution for restaurants.

Cons:

There is nothing good about this software. Lightspeed's sales pitch misleads and is not what you get, so much so that we had to cancel our subscription to minimize the damage this software has already caused. Furthermore, they send you the hardware with the promise that you can talk to their support and have it up and running, which is simply not true. I spent over $1000 on hiring a computer person with 30 years of experience, and even after the program was up and running, I made unlimited phone calls to support. Customer service is slow to respond. Despite this, the sales person did not bring it up during the meeting. Lightspeed fails this test because we chose our POS system based on it's guaranteed excellent support. One more reason for switching to Lightspeed was its credit card integration offered by the sales person. But it not only didn't work, it was downright horrible. We ended up removing the integration and went back to standalone. Continuing with the next promise, a seamless integration with our third-party delivery application. The integration was such a disaster that we had to cancel it to minimize the damage it had already done to our delivery rating. They have an OrderAhead (online portal) that falls short. It's terrible. Hence, we returned to our own online platform. Our end result is that I now have to pay close to $300 per month for a POS system, when I previously paid nothing for software that offered the ease of use functionality.

Ryan
Owner in US
Consumer Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Long Time Lightspeed Customers

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Its an online based eCommerce. Over the last 10 years it has been a satisfactory product however when initiating it it took awhile to implement effectively for a shoe store.

Cons:

We have been lightspeed customers for 10 years. We are coming up on our renewal. We have been nothing short of harassed by Ariel our account manager to use their credit card processing system. We have been using lightspeed without Lightspeeds processor and all of a sudden we are now "required" to use their credit card processor or we will be penalized and a percentage of our sales would go to Lightspeed for not using their processor. This all came from our account manager. We contacted Lightspeed yesterday and informed by the billing department that is not necessarily true. We asked for a new account manager and they keep wanting to put us with the same account manager who gave us false information. All we want to do is sign up for another year and it seems very difficult to do so. I don't understand how 10 years of using their system and they are so easy to brush this off.

Paul
Manager in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid CRM for customer managment and inventory

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We manage hundreds of customer jobs at the same time and keep everything organized. The ability to communicate with customers in real-time via text messages is a huge asset and makes managing work orders a breeze.

Pros:

The robust features that tie together inventory and customer history are great. We can quickly find the status of a job and located special orders for the customer. The software has tons of features that are customizable in just about anyway you can think of.

Cons:

Sometimes processing new sales on an existing account that has special orders in progress can get confusing. You have to pay close attention to several important details on two different screens.

Christina
President in US
Apparel & Fashion, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Horrible Service Stay away no refunds

1.0 2 months ago

Comments: [sensitive content hidden] signed me up took my money and disappeared I could not get my money back

Pros:

Nothing I never used their service the guy charged me then disappeared

Cons:

I was ignored until I canceled then I received a ride email about how he could no longer help me

Andrew
Website Coordinator in
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Simple, effective, easy-to-use software

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

We have been using eCom for about a month now and it has been a great experience. From the customer service to the software itself, it is pretty straightforward and just works. Whenever a question or issue arises, I don't hesitate to call customer support as I know that there will be an answer or solution. The nice thing I like about calling them is that if there is a few people ahead of me in the queue, I have the option of leaving my number and having one of them call me so I don't have to waste time waiting on the phone. When it comes to using eCom, it isn't difficult to learn at all and is pretty painless to use. I like that I can customize everything about the website's theme, right down to the code, to suit my needs. I also like that I can add notes to customers' orders as this lets me keep track of issues in a more secure place rather than pen and paper. Overall, I would definitely recommend eCom to anyone who wants a simple, painless, easy-to-use program to manage their website.

Cons:

The only con I've ran into is that if there is a problem with a designed theme, a ticket has to be placed on it and we have to wait to hear back from the developer of that particular theme. Luckily, I have knowledge of web development and was able to fix it on my own as they allow for that.

Sarah
Sarah
CFO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Buyer Beware!!

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: Garbage company turned off reviews on Google and Facebook for a reason. Even turned off the option of commenting or reacting to their posts on Facebook. That should tell you everything!!! Buyer beware! Scam Company!

Pros:

Has many features but the best one is they can go up on your monthly bill and not a dang thing you can do about it!

Cons:

After being in contract with them for 3 months they doubled my rate, when I called to cancel they told me I was stuck in it for 12 months regardless if they continually go up or not. I reported them to Quebec Consumer Affairs and only then could they miraculously cancel my contract.

Chris
Director of the ICR Discovery Center in US
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product and great support!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Great software with phenomenal support. We love and look forward to long-term partnership with LightSpeed.

Pros:

This software can do 9 of 10 things in every every of my business. Great inventory management (10 out of 10), great sales( 9 out of 10), and great standard reporting(8 out of 10).

Cons:

Inventory will not go to negative on hand, gift cards do not work online, and no bin location for each product.

Jen
Owner in US
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Lightspeed is the right fit for our small business

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We're very pleased with Lightspeed for our small furniture business. It works well with both sides of our businesdls: retail side as well as an on-site manufacturing side.
The reporting feature allows us to see what items/vendors are most profitable
And, our image with the customer is much more professional than before when we wrote paper receipts for each transaction.
Our staff of 4 (ages 21-67) has adapted well to the software.

Pros:

The reporting features are some of my most useful tools in the software. Tech support is really good, when needed Our non-tech savvy staff is able to use it effectively

Cons:

The label feature only works with 2" labels or smaller Grouping items such as furniture sets is a multi-step process that can be time-consuming at checkout.

Steve
President in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Want fast ecommerce website? Don't choose Lightspeed e-commerse

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: So far, VERY frustrating. Every time I ask for information to get this started, I am sent to a video they link me up with and they walk away. When I ask for approval for payments, they tell me that my website is not up yet, DUH! I keep adding more and it puts me back more. Now that I am done on my end, I am still waiting after thier last demand to put un-nneded items on the website. Currently I am using my godaddy still and may not use lightspeed until I am ready, maybe 6 months. By setting all of these high bars that are un-needed (godaddy doesn't need them) it just seems that lightspeed just would rather go away than take credit card payments from my business. So for now, we are using godaddy again (turned it back on) and take square and paypal, neither business needed me to do nothing to take payments like lightspeed.

Pros:

If it ever gets going, it should link my brick n mortar location inventory. The cost was also a plus as it fits small business's without huge amounts of cashflow. NCR wanted $6k a month and they only have 100 registers as a lowest sales pitch.

Cons:

When you start lightspeed for your brick n mortar, its a LONG process. I have over 490 items that I had to create catagories and sub catagories. Took me 4 - 8 hour days! Then you have to create a part name, price schedule, internet price and more. (another 4 - 8 hours days) When I finally got it done, it's super easy to use. Then when I wanted to do the e-commerce part, what a pain! Instead of going though your own payment processor like Square, they want you to use lightspeed. (A little better price, but not much) Anyways, in order to use payments online even though you have been approved to use it on your brick n mortar, they want you to jump hoop after hoop. You have to have policies on your website that don't purtain to your business, they want you to put in disclaimers, general terms and conditions, disclaimer, and other stuff that godaddy NEVER required to take online payments. Godaddy allows me to use anyone I want ofr payments with ZERO hoops. Still after my "uneeded" content was done, I still havent used them yet. Doing the otehr side for ecommrce has taken me 2 x's as long do get this up and still not running. Free webpages are only built to sell jewelry or shoes, not industrial parts. IF this ever gets off the ground, it supposedly will link with my retail/ecommerce and even ebay (through a 3rd party provider of course (more $$))

jordan
Technician/Sales lead in US
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Works best when linked with Lightspeed Retail

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: This would be a great option if there weren't so many other great ecommerce options like Shopify, bigcommerce, etc... Otherwise, if you already use Lightspeed, this is the best option.

Pros:

Very customizable with a wealth of themes and plugins. API support for Shipstation, which we use every day. Customizable statuses for orders which customers can see by logging into their accounts.

Cons:

No easy way to communicate with customers about their purchases through the application (you can send an email through the app, but all communication then goes through external email. Also, once the message is sent, you can't view what you just sent.)

Ross
Operations Manager in US
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Easy to use POS but certain Limitations

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Lightspeed is an affordable, easy to use POS. It is a great POS if you are using it to track all your inventory. If not, it has too many limitations to make it worthwhile.

Pros:

Lightspeed is easy to setup and use. Its cloud version is great for managing multiple retail locations, allowing for transfers between locations. You can download a full lists of your products on Lightspeed. Easy to use and intuitive.

Cons:

The biggest drawback we ran into with using Lightspeed is that it does not allow you to upload your inventory quantities. We use an external system to track inventory and it's frustrating not to be able to use a csv to upload inventory. The only we to update inventory is through doing a full physical inventory count, which we only do twice a year.

Ezra
Sales in Canada
Consumer Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review for Lightspeed

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use to manage stock availability, check sku and able to create custom sku

Cons:

Image of the product sometimes won't show for some reason. Other than that yearly is about $1600, abit pricey for the software

ERIN
Owner in
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great for MAC Users

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Accurate reporting and a more thorough online presence. Ease of transfer of data over and in setting up new products Quick to respond technical support team ADDED - the support staff integrated payment processing and their Genius terminal.

Cons:

No offline availability. If internet is down, you can't do anything. No automatic notice of duplicate customer names. No automatic account creation of customer names with credit card payments. Unable to add single item on multiple item sale to special order.

Kelly
Recruiter in US
, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Product works, but there are others that are better....

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The interface is incredibly easy to utilize. Loading products and walking through a sales process is simple.

Cons:

The lack of integration between lightspeed and other inventory tools can be frustrating at times, but there are workarounds. Customer service is not the best - response times are lacking.

Vivian
Proprieter in US
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A technology novices experience

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, this is my first foray into ecommerce. They have held my hand thru the whole process with many extra tools like seminars and a huge one line help library.

Pros:

Once I figured out how to use it, it's very simple and easy to find things. IF you can't, they are available 24/7 via phone and you always get a live person!

Cons:

They do have a little glitch in the customer account profile, but that is being addressed

Anthony
Marketplace Specialist in Netherlands
Apparel & Fashion, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Brandfield review Lightspeed

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Goed en fijn programma om mee te werken. Verder enorm betrouwbare software.

Pros:

Het gebruiksgemak, productbeheer, voorraadbeheer, klantbeheer en de verschillende marketingmogelijkheden die het biedt.

Cons:

Ondanks dat het programma enorm gebruiksvriendelijk is moet je voor bepaalde marketingdoeleinden onnodig lang zoeken